The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Got anything #3? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/42865-got-anything-3-a.html)

SRW Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:41am

Got anything #3?
 
http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...8/DSC_9162.jpg

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...8/DSC_9163.jpg

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...8/DSC_9164.jpg

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...8/DSC_9165.jpg

MichaelVA2000 Thu Mar 20, 2008 01:03am

Hard to judge by these pics but the runner my have been out of the base path. If she were out of the base path, the runner would be out. From the angle I also could not see if there was a tag by F2 and whether the runner was close enough to have touched the plate.

wadeintothem Thu Mar 20, 2008 02:05am

tag and out.

Steve M Thu Mar 20, 2008 03:54am

There's a couple items that ought to be known.
When did the runner veer right - was it to avoid tag or was it just wide anyway. If to avoid tag, may be more than 3 feet outside - so live ball & out.

On the tag, was there a bobble and that's how ball got transfered from glove & hand to hand?

It's probably just a tag & out, but I'd have liked to have seen a bit more.

CecilOne Thu Mar 20, 2008 09:15am

I do not see a tag that convinces me, especially as ump is still watching runner.
I think the ball is in bare hand all along.
Runner's left foot is 2 ft from baseline in #1, 4 ft in #3 & #4, and 4-2 = < 3.
Looks like runner reached plate in #4, where ump is looking.

DaveASA/FED Thu Mar 20, 2008 09:31am

I'm calling OBS, I am saying that from where the F2 is setup in picture 1 that she caught the ball there and is now reaching for the tag, the runner is so far to the right because she had to deviate her path because of F2 being setup to catch the ball. Or maybe just a safe, she never tagged her with the ball! Or out yes she did inbetween pictures we get to see here!

Andy Thu Mar 20, 2008 09:54am

From the information in just the pictures...I agree with Wade - tag and out!

Dave mentioned the possibility of OBS...there is that possibility, but we don't know if the runner is wide due to the positon of the catcher, or if she knew it was going to be a close play and went wide to go for the hook slide and get the plate with her hand.

Again....no hot moms!:eek:

argodad Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy

Again....no hot moms!:eek:

Hey it's Seattle in March. It's amazing that there are shadows! :cool:

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:51am

I guess once the umpire decides with which hand to hold his mask, he can move his feet an make a call for the rest of us.

BretMan Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:54am

Man, making calls from all these snapshots is like looking at a woman in a bikini.

What they reveal is suggestive but what they don't show is vital!

Dakota Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I guess once the umpire decides with which hand to hold his mask, he can move his feet an make a call for the rest of us.

At least he's not wearing shorts! :cool:

SRW Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:49am

The last two in this sequence...
 
http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...8/DSC_9166.jpg

http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/n...8/DSC_9167.jpg

CecilOne Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I guess once the umpire decides with which hand to hold his mask, he can move his feet an make a call for the rest of us.

I beat up the other guy, so I didn;t want to seem overbearing, but agree.

Now, if he is signalling an out and still looking at the runner at the plate when the catcher still can't tag the runner, why? Something does not add up or is the sequence jsut too fast? Photo #2 is the only possible tag shown.

MGKBLUE Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:27pm

Last two pictures.

Would like to see a big sell out.

Dancing With The Stars type sell out.

Skahtboi Thu Mar 20, 2008 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
I'm calling OBS, I am saying that from where the F2 is setup in picture 1 that she caught the ball there and is now reaching for the tag...

That's a helluva stretch, isn't it?! You would have to assume to come to that conclusion. It certainly isn't supported by the evidence given in these pix.

To me, it looks as though the runner was probably never tagged with the ball, as it appears in her hand on the ground within a matter of milliseconds from pic three. I would have to know if, when, and how much, the runner deviated from her original path.

From the evidence I see here, I would probably have nothing except a safe runner, though a tag out is possible. Kind of hard to tell if she tagged her with the glove sans ball, or with the ball. Though more answers, or having been there, might give me evidence to support a different ruling.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1