![]() |
Got anything?
Got anything on this instantaneous moment in time at second base? Assume a potential double play ball, any ruleset.
|
Quote:
|
Runner just about safe at 2nd and no double play??
not enough there... |
I have nothing yet. Could be INT, could be nothing.
We need more details. Runner out? Defensive player able to make the throw unhindered? |
Like others have said - not yet.
|
From that picture I have a stupid fielder. She is not touching the base nor is she tagging the runner so at that moment in time the runner is safe and it appears that the fielder is trying to get rid of the ball instead of attempting to retire that runner.:)
From that picture it can't be OBS the fielder has the ball (could have been moments prior to the picture, but we don't know) could be INT if runner is retired (can't tell from 1 moment in time) and if that runner is waving to try and break up a double play, big IF and again can't tell from that snapshot. |
To those calling the pictured base runner (who I'll call R1) safe...
I have a mental picture from 0.75 seconds earlier where the player brushed the top of 2nd with her foot before planting it. I would have coached her to take one more step away from the bag to get R1 out of the way of the throw to first. In any case, I don't see R1 doing anything to make me call INT on her. |
Quote:
No assumptions allowed ;) |
Quote:
Since SRW certainly knows you can't call a play from a single still image, I wonder where he is going with this? |
Quote:
I agree wonder where he is going with this.....1 picture is worth a 1,000 words but apparently thats still not enought to come close to calling a play!! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Hi SRW, As you know, in a double play situation the runner MUST NOT hinder the defensive player’s ability to throw to the next base. At this point interference doesn't appear to be the case. I would like to know what followed this moment. If she does interfere with the defenders ability to throw she is out and a double play is called. (umpire’s judgment). ..Al |
Well, y'all got it right - you got nothing on a snapshot.
And now, the rest of the story... 1. The SS in this photo missed 2B. 2. See R1's awesome slide into 2B? That awesome slide, coupled with her right hand that came down on F6's left arm just prior to the release of the ball, and her momentum taking her forward, took out F6. 3. The collision, which the BU determined not only interference, but also flagrant on R1's part got R1 called out and ejected. 4. The BU also determined that R1 had obvious intent to break up the double play, and called B2 out as well. And no, I was not the BU... |
Point taken on the "instant in time," especially since I was wrong. :o
However, it looks to me like R1 just doesn't know how to slide. Maybe the BU knows better. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51am. |