The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   4th out situation (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/42607-4th-out-situation.html)

CelticNHBlue Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:03pm

4th out situation
 
Situation:

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs and 2 strikes on the batter.

D3K, R1 scores, R2 attempts to score but is thrown out at the plate to end the inning. BR never advances to 1B but stays in live ball territory until action is over. Catcher now tags BR for 4th out in an attempt to negate run scored by R1.

What is your call?

Dakota Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:13pm

ASA rules?

MNBlue Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:13pm

Can only call 4th out on a runner that scored and violated the rules: missed a base, or left early on a caught fly ball.

Deny 4th out appeal. R1 scores.

Dakota Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue
Can only call 4th out on a runner that scored and violated the rules: missed a base, or left early on a caught fly ball.

Deny 4th out appeal. R1 scores.

That would be assuming ASA.

MNBlue Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
That would be assuming ASA.

Correct

canump Mon Mar 10, 2008 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue
Can only call 4th out on a runner that scored and violated the rules: missed a base, or left early on a caught fly ball.

Deny 4th out appeal. R1 scores.

Mark would the fact that the BR not advancing to 1st not be considered a rule violation and be considered an appeal play which then could be used as a 4th out
Just wondering here.

Dakota Mon Mar 10, 2008 01:47pm

BR didn't score. ASA Rule 5-5-B:
Quote:

No run shall be scored if a “fourth out” is the result of an appeal of a base missed or left to soon on a runner who has scored.

MNBlue Mon Mar 10, 2008 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canump
Mark would the fact that the BR not advancing to 1st not be considered a rule violation and be considered an appeal play which then could be used as a 4th out
Just wondering here.

No.

The 4th out appeal only is valid for runners who have scored.

NCASAUmp Mon Mar 10, 2008 03:27pm

I see where you're going with this, but unfortunately for the defense, I've got 3 outs and R1 scored. She should have tagged BR and not R2. Once you've got 3 outs, you've got 3 outs, and your "fourth out appeal" can only be on a runner that scored. You can't "take away" an out.

greymule Mon Mar 10, 2008 03:34pm

Up until a couple of years ago, that exact same ASA case play had the run nullified on an advantageous fourth out. Not really an appeal, simply the BR before reaching 1B, but the principle is the same. ASA used to permit advantageous appeals after 3 outs on any runner, not just one who had scored.

However, for some reason unknown to me, they changed their rule.

I know of no other code that parallels ASA's in this regard.

Dakota Mon Mar 10, 2008 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
I know of no other code that parallels ASA's in this regard.

In Fed, for example, the 4th out on the BR would nullify the run.

wadeintothem Mon Mar 10, 2008 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
In Fed, for example, the 4th out on the BR would nullify the run.

hmm.. I'm not aware of that difference. I've looked and dont see that. I am assuming you mean an appeal for 4th out on BR?

Where are you looking?

Thanks

Dakota Mon Mar 10, 2008 08:43pm

NFHS 2-1-13
Quote:

ART. 13 . . . Fourth-Out Appeal. An appeal may be made after the third out as long as it is made properly.
No mention of the appealed runner having scored.

Case Play
Quote:

9.1.1 SITUATION O: With R1, R2 and R3 on third, second, and first, respectively, B5 hits a fly ball to F8 for the second out. All base runners tag up and advance one base. F8's throw to F5 retires R2 for the third out, but after R1 has scored. R3 did not tag up and was properly appealed by the defensive team (fourth out). Does the run by R1 count? RULING: The only time a fourth out (or fifth) would take precedence is if it negates a score(s). In the above case, the fourth out would not negate R1's run, because R3's out was not a force out. (9-1-1 Exception d, e; 2-1-13)
By implication, the appeal on R3 WOULD have been honored if it HAD negated the run, even though R3 herself did not score.

Rule 9-1-1 Exception e
Quote:

e. when there is more than one out declared by the umpire which terminates the halfinning (the defensive team may select the out which is to its advantage);

greymule Mon Mar 10, 2008 09:14pm

hmm.. I'm not aware of that difference. I've looked and dont see that. I am assuming you mean an appeal for 4th out on BR?

It isn't technically an appeal. It's simply putting the BR out before the BR reaches 1B. We might think of it as an appeal because it comes after the third out, and apparently ASA doesn't differentiate, but an appeal is for a base missed or left too soon. When Fred Merkle failed to advance to 2B in 1908, that was just a force out, not an appeal play.

Take this play:

Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, 2 out. With Abel off on the pitch, Charles hits a ground ball to F5, who sees Baker approaching and figures he'll tag Baker for the third out. Abel crosses the plate before F5 tags Baker, but then F5 realizes his mistake and throws to 1B for the (fourth) out on Charles.

Whether we call this an "appeal" or not, in ASA the out at 1B would not count and the run would score. In Fed and NCAA softball (and all the baseball codes), it would be nullified.

wadeintothem Mon Mar 10, 2008 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
NFHS 2-1-13
No mention of the appealed runner having scored.

Case Play
By implication, the appeal on R3 WOULD have been honored if it HAD negated the run, even though R3 herself did not score.

Rule 9-1-1 Exception e

I dont think I ever noticed that, you certainly seem correct. thanks. To bad its not clearer or on the NFHS differences.. because that is a significant difference.

greymule Mon Mar 10, 2008 09:23pm

Now that we know that a fourth out appeal cannot be upheld on a runner who did not score . . .

Bases loaded, 2 out. BR hits a ball off the fence and misses 1B on his way around the bases. The three runners touch all their bases and score. BR is almost home when he sees the late throw arriving. When the BR hears the defensive coach say, "Just throw to 1B and appeal. He missed the bag by a mile," the BR catches the throw and tosses the ball into the dugout (or runs directly into the dugout to be declared out). The defensive team then asks for an appeal of the missed 1B.

Your ruling?

canump Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue
No.

The 4th out appeal only is valid for runners who have scored.

But a run did score on this play.
I don't have my rule book here at work and its been awhile since I read it, but the CASA rule book has a rule which states something along the lines of " No run may score if the 3rd out is a result of the batter not advancing to and touching 1st and or any runner not advancing to or touching the bag that they were forced to advance to."
This is not an appeal play as per say but an actual ruling in our rule book even though I might have miss worded what is actualy written. As the opening post said there were 2 out at the time.

MNBlue Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canump
But a run did score on this play.
No run may score if the 3rd out is a result of the batter not advancing to and touching 1st and or any runner not advancing to or touching the bag that they were forced to advance to

If the 3rd out was the BR, then, you would be correct. But, the 3rd out was
R2 by being tagged. The appeal on the BR would be a 4th out, which isn't recognized by ASA unless it is for a runner that has scored and THAT runner is the one who committed the violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CELTICNHBLUE
Situation:

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs and 2 strikes on the batter.

D3K, R1 scores, R2 attempts to score but is thrown out at the plate to end the inning. BR never advances to 1B but stays in live ball territory until action is over. Catcher now tags BR for 4th out in an attempt to negate run scored by R1.


BuggBob Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:52pm

Gee whiz guys, this is a no brainier call. The run does not score (in any affiliation) because an out was made on the batter runner before they touched first. Don’t get caught up in fourth out appeals because there was NO appeal this is a standard definition of a force out. The runner was put out, either by tag or by bag, before reaching the base they were forced. No run will score if the third (fourth) out is the result of a force.

Bugg

Dakota Tue Mar 11, 2008 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
...No run will score if the ...fourth... out is the result of a force.

Rule citation for ASA, please.

MNBlue Tue Mar 11, 2008 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Gee whiz guys, this is a no brainier call. The run does not score (in any affiliation) because an out was made on the batter runner before they touched first. Don’t get caught up in fourth out appeals because there was NO appeal this is a standard definition of a force out. The runner was put out, either by tag or by bag, before reaching the base they were forced. No run will score if the third (fourth) out is the result of a force.

Bugg

Did you read the OP? The third out was recorded when R2 was thrown out at the plate. R1 scored before R2 was tagged out. Run scores. Whatever BR did or didn't do doesn't matter, since the third out was already recorded.

whiskers_ump Tue Mar 11, 2008 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Gee whiz guys, this is a no brainier call. The run does not score (in any affiliation) because an out was made on the batter runner before they touched first. Don’t get caught up in fourth out appeals because there was NO appeal this is a standard definition of a force out. The runner was put out, either by tag or by bag, before reaching the base they were forced. No run will score if the third (fourth) out is the result of a force.

Bugg

You on the same page as the OP?

canump Wed Mar 12, 2008 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Gee whiz guys, this is a no brainier call. The run does not score (in any affiliation) because an out was made on the batter runner before they touched first. Don’t get caught up in fourth out appeals because there was NO appeal this is a standard definition of a force out. The runner was put out, either by tag or by bag, before reaching the base they were forced. No run will score if the third (fourth) out is the result of a force.

Bugg

Soory guys but I got to agree with BuggBob. The batter is still obligated to go to 1st and it still considered a force. At the start of the play there were 2 out and the batter runner, whether it be the 3rd out or 4th out, it's still a force out and the rule book states what happens when the 3rd out or 4th out is a force out when the play starts with 2 out. no runs count.

Dakota Wed Mar 12, 2008 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canump
... the rule book states what happens when the 3rd out or 4th out is a force out when the play starts with 2 out. no runs count.

Speaking ASA, where does the rule book say that? Citation, please.

You will notice that this whole thread has made a distinction between ASA and <s>(nearly)</s> everyone else. Nothing to disagree with there. So, I guess you are disagreeing with those who are stating the ASA rule. So, citation, please?

greymule Wed Mar 12, 2008 09:29am

Soory guys but I got to agree with BuggBob. The batter is still obligated to go to 1st and it still considered a force. At the start of the play there were 2 out and the batter runner, whether it be the 3rd out or 4th out, it's still a force out and the rule book states what happens when the 3rd out or 4th out is a force out when the play starts with 2 out. no runs count.

You are 100% correct for every code on earth, including the Central African Pygmy Softball Association and the Yemeni Slayer-of-the-Infidel Softball Federation.

Except ASA.

wadeintothem Wed Mar 12, 2008 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Soory guys but I got to agree with BuggBob. The batter is still obligated to go to 1st and it still considered a force. At the start of the play there were 2 out and the batter runner, whether it be the 3rd out or 4th out, it's still a force out and the rule book states what happens when the 3rd out or 4th out is a force out when the play starts with 2 out. no runs count.

You are 100% correct for every code on earth, including the Central African Pygmy Softball Association and the Yemeni Slayer-of-the-Infidel Softball Federation.

Except ASA.

That there is funny, I don't care who ya are... :D

Dakota Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
...You are 100% correct for every code on earth, including the Central African Pygmy Softball Association and the Yemeni Slayer-of-the-Infidel Softball Federation.

Except ASA.

Thanks. I've now edited my post to remove "nearly"... :D

SRW Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:44pm

It was clearly explained to our umpires on Monday.

Pretend you're the batter... and there's runners on 2 and 3 with 2 outs. You hit a ground ball to left field. The runner on 3 scores, but the runner on 2 is put out at third before you get to first base. You see the third out... what do you do? You trot in to the dugout. Why? Because there's 3 outs already. What incentive do you have to actually touch first base? You've got to get your glove and go play defense now.

Stu Clary Wed Mar 12, 2008 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Yemeni Slayer-of-the-Infidel Softball Federation.

They paid good?

Skahtboi Thu Mar 13, 2008 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary
They paid good?

The pay is great, they even pay mileage. But if you blow a call, it really doesn't matter. You know those beheading videos that were all the rage on the internet a couple of years back? Those were really umpires that the YSISF were unhappy with.

greymule Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:45am

Hold on a minute. You guys don't know the whole story. Because of some recent unfortunate incidents, the YSISF has instituted a tough new rule. Anyone beheading an umpire is automatically suspended for 2 weeks. A second offense and the beheader is out for the season, with 20 lashes.

I won't say that umpiring the YSISF doesn't entail some risk, but most of the guys I know figure the benefits are worth it. After all, you do get paid in virgins.

And there's a big difference in the way they call obstruction. From ASA-YSISF rules differences:

ﯼﯠﮮﮦﺭﺤﺲﻬﻕﻓﻼﻴﻰﻓﻆףاتخءٮٯשەۜ۔ۀڭسװזء٩ٲٰڏٿ

I have some YSISF shirts and hats if anyone is interested.

CAPSA rules are actually pretty close to ASA's. Closer than Fed's, for example. The main difference is in the strike zone. Plus, the fences are shorter.

NCASAUmp Thu Mar 13, 2008 04:34pm

We're sooooo going to burn for this. I'm staying out! :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1