The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Three Man Mechanics NCAA (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/41805-three-man-mechanics-ncaa.html)

NM FP Ump Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:03am

Three Man Mechanics NCAA
 
Went to the local college (DI) this weekend to watch a double header. Saw some mechanics that made me scratch my head. R1 on 3rd, R3 on 1st, one out, both BU on the line but 3 feet from respective base, in anticipation of pickoff attempt(s). I had never seen the BU's this close to the base before, and wondered if this was an NCAA 3 man mechanic, or if it was standard for most rulesets (NFHS, ASA, etc.). I have never called a 3 man before but all the rulesets I have researched don't included this mechanic.

Scooby Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:33am

With runners on first and third U1 should be 15 - 30 feet from first base, about off the left shoulder of the second baseperson, assuming she is close to a normal position, according to NCAA Mechanics. If you are set on the foul line who has the steal of second? As for U2, three feet is very close, I would be closer to six feet, in a set position at the pitch.

Skahtboi Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:47am

Scooby has very eloquently stated the proper mechanic.

CecilOne Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scooby
With runners on first and third U1 should be 15 - 30 feet from first base, about off the left shoulder of the second baseperson, assuming she is close to a normal position, according to NCAA Mechanics. If you are set on the foul line who has the steal of second? As for U2, three feet is very close, I would be closer to six feet, in a set position at the pitch.

The OP implies R2 on 2nd also.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Feb 11, 2008 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
The OP implies R2 on 2nd also.

In what thread?

AtlUmpSteve Mon Feb 11, 2008 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
The OP implies R2 on 2nd also.

I'm not sure that referring to R1 and R3 allows us to assume R2 exists; that runner may well have been forced out at 2nd on the previous play. That notwithstanding, with bases loaded, U1 is still not expected to be on the foul line.

NM FP Ump Mon Feb 11, 2008 01:49pm

Clarification
 
Sorry, forgot to add "one out", OP has been edited to add "one out".

wadeintothem Tue Feb 12, 2008 01:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I'm not sure that referring to R1 and R3 allows us to assume R2 exists; that runner may well have been forced out at 2nd on the previous play. That notwithstanding, with bases loaded, U1 is still not expected to be on the foul line.

well.... R2 could be hanging out with the 4th umpire, thus somewhat explaining the mechanic..

CecilOne Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I'm not sure that referring to R1 and R3 allows us to assume R2 exists; that runner may well have been forced out at 2nd on the previous play. That notwithstanding, with bases loaded, U1 is still not expected to be on the foul line.

Agree, just trying to be sure we covered all the "bases". :cool:

IRISHMAFIA Tue Feb 12, 2008 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Agree, just trying to be sure we covered all the "bases". :cool:

We had all the bases covered, there just wasn't a runner on 2nd.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1