![]() |
I was e-mailed this question from a friend who just took
the NFHS 2002 test.....{I have been unavailable to attend our meetings due to Lumbar Herniated Disc(s)..Another story. Anyway here is what he asked and I did check with him twice to be sure he typed it as it was. __________________________________________________ ______ With R1 on 1B, B2 hits a pitch with one foot completely outside the batters' box. F6 fields the ball. F4 <b>obstructs</b> R1, who is advancing to 2B. Ruling:~~Enforce the interference. _________________:confused:_______________________ ____________ Gotta remember, this is a true/false question taken from the NFHS test. For you Texans, Q21. glen |
Sorry to hear about the back glen........take care of it and you should be good as new in no time........
Now to the question........... I would say false........the ball is dead on the illegally batted ball.........5-1-1b, also see the DBT......and 7-3-2, and 7-4-1a. Every year there is a question that defies logic......they probably wanted to say........<b>enforce the OBSTRUCTION (instead of interference)...</b>. JMO Joel |
I'm gonna be taking that test tonight. I agree that this is "false" since the foot out of the batter's box would result in a dead ball, and hence no play could continue from the point the ball was killed.
Scott |
Things work a bit diffeently here in Pa. Once you take & pass the test, you never have to take it again.
But if I was to take it, I agree - gotta be false. The problem with trick questions in a true/false test is that there's no explanation. |
Steve:
Wonder if TASO would honor "I took and passed the test in PA years ago" down here?! Sure would be nice. Heck, I have to take an ASA, USSSA, and NFHS/TASO test every year, and the Dixie test every two years. And the test taking begins tonight! Scott |
Quote:
There is a GOV around here who is proud of the fact that he hasn't read the rule book in 20 years. :rolleyes: |
I found the question I think they wanted to get on paper.
Case Book Page 53 8.4.3 Situation B. "With R1 on first base, B2 hits a pitch with one foot completely outside the batter's box. F6 fields the ball. F4 obstructs R1 advancing to second base. <b>RULING</b> The ball became dead at the time of B2's violation. B2 is out and R1 must return to first base. Naturally the Section this is under is <b>Defensive Obstruction</b> glen Thanks Joel, I did not know anything could hurt so bad and not be visible.....and I have had open heart surgery. Everyone that will be taking the test good luck and study the <b><u>Case Book</b></u>....grin |
Glen:
Just for the record...yes, that question was on the test last night, and from what I could find sitting there, you are correct. I wrote false. Funny thing was, when I got to this question, I started laughing thinking about reading it on here already. Got some really strange looks from my brother and sister blues! ;) Scott |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am. |