The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS batter stepping out of box (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/39002-nfhs-batter-stepping-out-box.html)

shipwreck Sat Oct 20, 2007 07:25pm

NFHS batter stepping out of box
 
In NFHS, if a batter requests time and it is not granted by the umpire and the pitcher delivers the pitch, doesn't the rule say the pitch SHALL by called a strike? I believe in the same scenario in ASA the rule says the pitch shall be called a ball or strike depending on the location of the pitch. Am I reading both of these correctly and if so then if the pitcher air mailed one 6' over the batter, in NFHS it would be a strike??? What do you say? Dave

Dholloway1962 Sat Oct 20, 2007 07:46pm

My understanding:

NFHS....Strike

ASA...our UIC interpretation here is it is going to be a strike most, if not all of the time, in other words a very generous strike zone.

Skahtboi Sat Oct 20, 2007 09:48pm

NFHS 7:3:1:2 does in fact state that the pitch "shall be called a strike."

IRISHMAFIA Sun Oct 21, 2007 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
if the pitcher air mailed one 6' over the batter, in NFHS it would be a strike??? What do you say? Dave

I would suggest "ball". :D

shipwreck Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:52am

OK, but pretty regularly on this board it is stated that we should have a rule to reference to, to make or not make a ruling. What rule cites that we can call it a ball. Dave

IRISHMAFIA Sun Oct 21, 2007 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
OK, but pretty regularly on this board it is stated that we should have a rule to reference to, to make or not make a ruling. What rule cites that we can call it a ball. Dave

If the request is so late that I will not grant time, I've got a few more things to worry about than the location of the batter's feet.

Yes, I know that it should be obvious the batter isn't there, but you know how blind us umpires are :D . Once the pitch is on the way, how would you know the batter completely left the box without losing the pitch? And what if you are wrong, what do you call the pitch?

shipwreck Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:53pm

That's kind of the way I feel. I bet the majority of coaches don't even realize what the rules actually says. If I called a strike on a pitch that was WAY, WAY out of the strike zone, it would probably be a tough sell to the offensive coach even though I have the rule to back me. Dave

AtlUmpSteve Sun Oct 21, 2007 06:18pm

And where (rhetorically speaking) are the armpits or knees of a batter who isn't in the batter's box? To me, very generous (in ASA) is more than a suggestion; it is a message that should be sent.

In NFHS, I have zero problem calling it a strike; if the coach doesn't know the rule (even with the 2007 POE directing umpires to NOT GRANT TIME), the coach will learn it very quickly.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Oct 21, 2007 06:56pm

I have no problem with calling a strike if the batter steps out of the box if the pitch is close to a liberal strike zone. But that is ASA.

But if I understand this thread correctly, any time the batter steps out of the box, the umpire should call a strike, end of story. No liability to at least throw a decent pitch for the offense. I think that is a pretty stiff penalty simply for giving up on a pitch.

Next thought, 2-2 count, batter steps out of the box just prior to the release of the pitch and the pitcher throws the ball out of play. Awarding bases? Including the batter/batter-runner who gave up on an uncaught third strike?

CecilOne Mon Oct 22, 2007 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I have no problem with calling a strike if the batter steps out of the box if the pitch is close to a liberal strike zone. But that is ASA.

But if I understand this thread correctly, any time the batter steps out of the box, the umpire should call a strike, end of story. No liability to at least throw a decent pitch for the offense. I think that is a pretty stiff penalty simply for giving up on a pitch.

Next thought, 2-2 count, batter steps out of the box just prior to the release of the pitch and the pitcher throws the ball out of play. Awarding bases? Including the batter/batter-runner who gave up on an uncaught third strike?

Why do you always have to throw reality into a communication exercise? :p
Now I might have to get out my rule book. :eek: :)

SRW Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:32pm

I'm out working an 8th grade NFHS game tonight... probably the best team in this league against the worst. Final score was 16-0 in 4.5 innings.

Anyway, Team Best is at bat, and winning like 8-0 at this point. B1 is at bat with a 2-2 count, and for whatever reason, F1 decides to take just a little bit longer than normal with her delivery. B1 asks for time about the same time F1 starts her motion. I go set, B1 backs out of the box thinking she had time, and ...yes, the pitch is about 4 feet above my head and hits the backstop.

Any idea what I called?

Dakota Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
Any idea what I called?

Ummm.... Illegal pitch? :D

NCASAUmp Tue Oct 23, 2007 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
I'm out working an 8th grade NFHS game tonight... probably the best team in this league against the worst. Final score was 16-0 in 4.5 innings.

Anyway, Team Best is at bat, and winning like 8-0 at this point. B1 is at bat with a 2-2 count, and for whatever reason, F1 decides to take just a little bit longer than normal with her delivery. B1 asks for time about the same time F1 starts her motion. I go set, B1 backs out of the box thinking she had time, and ...yes, the pitch is about 4 feet above my head and hits the backstop.

Any idea what I called?

Ghostbusters! :D

Andy Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
Any idea what I called?

Let's see...8th grade game, mismatched teams, 8-0 score....

I may be calling for a cold beer at this point!!!!! :D

MichaelVA2000 Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
I'm out working an 8th grade NFHS game tonight... probably the best team in this league against the worst. Final score was 16-0 in 4.5 innings.

Anyway, Team Best is at bat, and winning like 8-0 at this point. B1 is at bat with a 2-2 count, and for whatever reason, F1 decides to take just a little bit longer than normal with her delivery. B1 asks for time about the same time F1 starts her motion. I go set, B1 backs out of the box thinking she had time, and ...yes, the pitch is about 4 feet above my head and hits the backstop.

Any idea what I called?

Wild guess here, but I'm thinking you either called 911 because team B needed help or 411 for more information about the pitch.:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1