The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

I don't think so. Since there is no reference as to where the catcher was throwing the ball, but the OP made mention of the running lane, I am assuming the throw was toward 1B. Rule book specifically states that a batter retired on strikes running toward 1B is NOT interference based on doing so to to draw a throw.

Unless there was a possible play on R1, I think you just have a DMC.
Before everyone grants carte blanche to the offense and DMC to the defense, let's remember the exception Mike noted "unless there was a possible play on R1". If you believe that the throw toward 1B was to make a play on R1, you most certainly do have interference by a player already out by rule. Intent is not a factor; in fact, the running lane is not a factor. You can certainly apply that the retired batter actively interfered, since she isn't still in the batters box, nor headed toward her bench; anything else would be an active hindrence.

Runner closest to home is out; and, as asked in OP, any other runner returns if not already having advanced to or past the next base at the time of the interference.

Admittedly, I didn't think this through completely in my first reaction response; but the kneejerk response was a general statement of base awards when interference does occur.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Before everyone grants carte blanche to the offense and DMC to the defense, let's remember the exception Mike noted "unless there was a possible play on R1". If you believe that the throw toward 1B was to make a play on R1, you most certainly do have interference by a player already out by rule.....
True, but if I have R1 running toward 2B and the retired BR running toward 1B, and F2 making a throw to 1B, I'd have to be really wanting that out to see a pick-off throw here.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Agreed. But R1's location and actions weren't part of the original post.

Regardless, my primary point is that we don't automatically grant immunity to this already retired player without considering if there was interference.

I personally oppose the concept that the offense can (and usually does) intentionally attempt to confuse a catcher by running to draw an unneeded throw with impunity in this instance, when doing so in another setting is clearly defined as interference. We hold the defense to a standard of rules knowledge and judgment while making the offense immune from knowing, understanding, or even caring if it is committing is intended to be legal interference. But, that is my soap box, not my ruling.

By the rule, it is unlikely; but don't dismiss any possibility thinking the offense is completely immune to run.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2007, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
I agree that there can be no running-lane violation here, but neither is the retired batter granted any running-lane protection. Drawing the throw isn't interference, but wouldn't the ball hitting the batter in the arm be interference? Just asking. . .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2007, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
I agree that there can be no running-lane violation here, but neither is the retired batter granted any running-lane protection. Drawing the throw isn't interference, but wouldn't the ball hitting the batter in the arm be interference? Just asking. . .
If you have been following the thread, it has been stated a few times that it would be INT only if there was a play. Throwing a ball to 1B with no play to be had is a DMC, not INT.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
If you have been following the thread, it has been stated a few times that it would be INT only if there was a play. Throwing a ball to 1B with no play to be had is a DMC, not INT.
Yes, you're right, it was mentioned a few times. Having re-read the thread more carefully, it makes sense now. Not sure why it didn't click the first time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference? ump66 Baseball 4 Mon Sep 25, 2006 01:43pm
interference cards2323 Baseball 13 Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:56pm
Interference? tzme415 Softball 4 Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:33pm
Runner interference versus umpire interference Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm
interference refjef40 Softball 12 Fri Mar 21, 2003 09:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1