The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Does the run count (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/38673-does-run-count.html)

umpharp Fri Oct 05, 2007 04:54pm

Does the run count
 
ASA WSP 1 Ump

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd. 2 Outs. Bot of the 7th. Vis. 6 Home 5

Ground ball to 3rd. Thirdbasemen fields the ball and steps on 3rd for the force out.(she thinks) R2 stops running hard(she thought she was out) and jogs towards her dugout on the third base side and enters it. R1 crossed home before R2 entered the dugout, as the visiting team celebrates the win. There coach was yelling from the dugout that they didn't get the out, but nobody heard him as this team doesn't win very often and they were happily screaming in victory.

I ruled that the run counts then called R2 out for going into the dugout. This made the game tied 6-6 and we went into extra innings.

Was this the correct call?

Az.Ump Fri Oct 05, 2007 06:39pm

Need to know what happend to BR. She needs to make it to 1B.

Paul

IRISHMAFIA Sat Oct 06, 2007 08:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Az.Ump
Need to know what happend to BR. She needs to make it to 1B.

Paul

Not necessary if R2 entered dugout prior to BR. Since it wasn't raised in the OP, I would believe th BR was standing someone down the RF line when this took place.

Az.Ump Sat Oct 06, 2007 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Not necessary if R2 entered dugout prior to BR. Since it wasn't raised in the OP, I would believe th BR was standing someone down the RF line when this took place.

Mike,

Agreed, depending on rule set. I should have been more clear on the timing aspect. My bad.

Paul

umpharp Sat Oct 06, 2007 06:21pm

Sorry that I didn't include this. Mike is right, the BR reached 1st base easily before R2 entered the dugout.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1