|  | 
| 
 Force or no Force? 12U fastpitch. Runners are allowed to steal 2nd & 3rd. On an attempted pick off at first - is there a force on the runner or do they have to be tagged. I think I know the answer but I'm calling on experience here. We are speaking ASA. | 
| 
 the runner must be tagged | 
| 
 Please read the ASA definition of "force out" and make note of which parts have absolutely nothing to do with the play you have described. | 
| 
 In all my years playing and completeing my first year of umpiring - my gut tells me they have to be tagged. I should of stated that this is coming from the coaches, which I have learned not to trust.  Thanks | 
| 
 Quote: 
 See what Bret said. Continue to learn not to trust coaches - they have an agenda. And, learn the definitions - Rule 1 for ASA - because everything is based on what a definition is (the definition is absolute - with no changes, at least until the next year's book comes out). | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59pm. |