The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   BOO question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/38271-boo-question.html)

Linknblue Sat Sep 15, 2007 07:18pm

BOO question
 
Situation: first, second and third batters. Numbers are 1, 2 and 3. Batter 1 is supposed to bat but batter 2 bats and hits popup for an out. Before next pitch defensive manager appeals and says 2 batted and 1 should have. Appeal accepted and 1 is called out for not batting when they should have. Since 2 batted and and popped up for an out, does the out stand and then we put 3 up to bat or do we simply have #2 bat again and not count the pop up out as an out?

Dakota Sat Sep 15, 2007 07:39pm

What rule book are you using?

tcblue13 Sat Sep 15, 2007 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Linknblue
Situation: first, second and third batters. Numbers are 1, 2 and 3. Batter 1 is supposed to bat but batter 2 bats and hits popup for an out. Before next pitch defensive manager appeals and says 2 batted and 1 should have. Appeal accepted and 1 is called out for not batting when they should have. Since 2 batted and and popped up for an out, does the out stand and then we put 3 up to bat or do we simply have #2 bat again and not count the pop up out as an out?

Fed
#1 is declared out
#2's time at bat is negated
#2 returns to bat in the proper lineup position with 1 out

If no appeal is made and a pitch (legal or illegal) is thrown to the next batter (#3), #2's at bat stands and #3 becomes the legal batter

greymule Sat Sep 15, 2007 08:23pm

ASA

#1 is out for failing to bat in the correct order.
#2 is out on his popup.
#3 bats next, with 2 outs.

SC Ump Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:05pm

Two different twists on the question.... ASA:

SIT1: 1 is suppose to bat and 3 comes up and flies out. Defense properly appeals, so number 1 is called out for not taking his/her turn at bat and number 3's out stands. Would it then be #2's turn at bat with two outs? If #2 gets a base hit, is it then #3's turn at bat?

SIT 2: 1 is suppose to bat and 8 comes up and flies out. Defense properly appeals, so number 1 is called out for not taking his/her turn at bat and number 8's out stands. Would it then be #2's turn at bat with two outs? Who bat's after #7, two innings later?

greymule Sun Sep 16, 2007 02:23pm

ASA

Sit 1: #2 bats with 2 outs, followed by #3

Sit 2: #2 bats with 2 outs, and the games resumes normally

IRISHMAFIA Sun Sep 16, 2007 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
Two different twists on the question.... ASA:

SIT1: 1 is suppose to bat and 3 comes up and flies out. Defense properly appeals, so number 1 is called out for not taking his/her turn at bat and number 3's out stands. Would it then be #2's turn at bat with two outs?

Yes

Quote:

If #2 gets a base hit, is it then #3's turn at bat?
No, #3 has used their turn at bat. The next scheduled batter would be #4

Quote:

SIT 2: 1 is suppose to bat and 8 comes up and flies out. Defense properly appeals, so number 1 is called out for not taking his/her turn at bat and number 8's out stands. Would it then be #2's turn at bat with two outs?
Same as above, yes.

Quote:

Who bat's after #7, two innings later?
#8

greymule Sun Sep 16, 2007 03:38pm

If #2 gets a base hit, is it then #3's turn at bat?

No, #3 has used their turn at bat. The next scheduled batter would be #4

7-2-D-2-c

The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. Exception: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat, and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the lineup will be the batter.

The way I read this, if #1 is supposed to bat and number #2 bats instead and makes an out, and the defense appeals the BOO, #1 is out, #2's out stands, and #3 would bat. The incorrect batter (#2) has been called out as a result of his time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, since the lineup would continue after #1. In that case you skip #2 and go to #3.

But if, as in Situation 1, #1 is supposed to bat and #3 bats instead, then #1 is out, #3's out stands, and #2 would bat, followed by #3 again.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Sep 16, 2007 04:01pm

Casebook Play 7.2-9
Bases loaded, B4 scheduled to bat, but B4 comes to bat instead and ground into a double play, resulting in R3 being forced at 2B and B5 out at 1B. The defense appeal B5 batting out of order.

RULING: All outs that occurred before the appeal stand. Any runner that advanced are returned to their original base. Because of the appeal, B4 is declared out for missing their turn at bat for the third out of the inning. B6 leads off the next inning. (7.2.D.2.b)

Think about it. It isn't possible for a player to make two outs in the same inning in which a team does not "bat around". B5 had his opportunity and was called out. It is the same as if the batter due up is on base or previously scored in that inning.

greymule Sun Sep 16, 2007 04:11pm

Casebook Play 7.2-9
Bases loaded, B4 scheduled to bat, but B5 [my correction] comes to bat instead and grounds into a double play, resulting in R3 being forced at 2B and B5 out at 1B. The defense appeal B5 batting out of order.

RULING: All outs that occurred before the appeal stand. Any runner that advanced are returned to their original base. Because of the appeal, B4 is declared out for missing their turn at bat for the third out of the inning. B6 leads off the next inning. (7.2.D.2.b)


I have no problem with this ruling, since it is covered by the "Exception." The next batter after the batter called out for failing to bat in the correct order (B4) would be B5, but B5 was put out on the play, so he is skipped over.

But if B6 batted instead of B4 (parallel to #3 batting instead of #1 in Situation 1 above), then after the double play stands and B4 is declared out, B5 leads off the next inning, followed by B6.

In other words, you skip over B2 if he batted instead of B1 and made an out. Or you skip B5 if he batted instead of B4 or made an out, or B7 instead of B6. But if any batter other than the one immediately after the proper batter makes an out, and the defense appeals BOO, the out stands, the batter who should have batted is out, and you simply continue with the batter after the one declared out for failing to bat in the proper order.

Thus it would be entirely possible for a batter to make 2 outs in the same inning without his team batting around: B3 bats instead of B1 and flies out. Defense appeals. B1 out, B2 bats and singles. B3 flies out again. Or take the second situation above: B8 bats instead of B1 and flies out. Defense appeals BOO. B1 is out, B8's out stands, and B2, B3, B4, B5, B6, and B7 get hits. B8 then flies out to end the inning for his second out of the inning without his team batting around (B9 didn't bat).

greymule Sun Sep 16, 2007 04:45pm

Casebook Play 7.2-8

With no outs, R1 on 1B and B2 scheduled to bat, B4 comes to bat instead and grounds into a double play. The defense appeals B4 batting out of order.

Ruling: The double play stands and B2 is out for missing [his] turn at bat, resulting in the third out. B3 will lead off the next inning.


Note that the ruling does not add "and B4 will be skipped over."

greymule Sun Sep 16, 2007 04:53pm

It is the same as if the batter due up is on base or previously scored in that inning.

I can't find any mention of skipping over a batter who "previously scored" in an inning. Where does the book cover it?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Sep 16, 2007 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Casebook Play 7.2-8

With no outs, R1 on 1B and B2 scheduled to bat, B4 comes to bat instead and grounds into a double play. The defense appeals B4 batting out of order.

Ruling: The double play stands and B2 is out for missing [his] turn at bat, resulting in the third out. B3 will lead off the next inning.

Note that the ruling does not add "and B4 will be skipped over."

New inning.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Sep 16, 2007 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
It is the same as if the batter due up is on base or previously scored in that inning.

I can't find any mention of skipping over a batter who "previously scored" in an inning. Where does the book cover it?

You're correct, there is nothing in the book and I made a presumption to that point. You would think that if someone reached base and scored, the defense would have caught on. You are correct though, the book only addresses runners still on base.

AtlUmpSteve Mon Sep 17, 2007 08:06am

Yeah, I have to agree with greymule on the "previously scored point". Here's my case play:

B1 singles. With B2 due to bat, B5 bats, and homers. B3 bats and strikes out. B4 bats and singles. B5 is now the next legal batter.

Rationale: once B4 bats, that legalizes B3. The proper batter after B4 is B5, even if B5 batted out of order earlier in the inning.

greymule Mon Sep 17, 2007 09:25am

B1 singles. With B2 due to bat, B5 bats, and homers. B3 bats and strikes out. B4 bats and singles. B5 is now the next legal batter.

Rationale: once B4 bats, that legalizes B3. The proper batter after B4 is B5, even if B5 batted out of order earlier in the inning.


I think we could all agree on that. I think we could also agree that if B5 singled instead of homered, and then B3 struck out and B4 singled, with B5 taking 3B, we would skip over B5 (since he is on base), and B6 would bat. This of course assumes no appeal of BOO.

However, what if B5 (batting instead of B2) struck out, and then the defense appealed BOO? B2 is out, B5's out stands, and B3 is the batter. B3 and B4 then hit singles. I would say that B5 is up, even though he made an out earlier in the inning.

This is because B5 batted when B2 was due up. If B5 had batted when B4 was due up, and made an out, and then the defense appealed BOO, then B4 would be out, B5's out would stand, and in this one situation, when B5 would now be the proper batter, we skip over him.

At least that's the way I read it.

AtlUmpSteve Mon Sep 17, 2007 10:50am

I agree with all of that. Again, speaking ASA rules.

This is not the same issue in NFHS or NCAA, because they do not keep the out made by the improper batter who is successfully appealed, they only keep "other" outs; so, in those games, that person isn't "in the book" twice. I don't see the ASA rule (nor the intent) keeping that out meant to change the basic process; I see it solely meant to keep that earned out.

Interestingly, this is not mentioned as a rules difference in the ASA/NFHS/NCAA document posted by ASA.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Sep 17, 2007 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Yeah, I have to agree with greymule on the "previously scored point".

As do I. I jumped the gun on the comment as I have never seen a player make it around the bases prior to the other team catching it.

Linknblue Wed Sep 19, 2007 01:40pm

Based on all the different answers for different scenarios on this post I am going to assume that the answer greymule gave is the correct one for an ASA sit. We have two outs and 3 bats.....correct?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1