The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
USA vs. Japan game ends on LBR violation

http://sports.espn.go.com/oly/news/story?id=2939158
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Didn't see it, but kudos to the ump for not wimping out on the call.

Although, I'm sure they'll probably get mentioned in this post.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 10:52am
Al Al is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Send a message via Yahoo to Al
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Didn't see it, but kudos to the ump for not wimping out on the call.

Although, I'm sure they'll probably get mentioned in this post.
I saw the replay and although there was a pause it didn't appear to me that the runner waited too long before returning back to first. I'd like to see the replay again but at the time the ball got back into Cat's hand in the circle it appeared that a count of "a thousand one" may not have been finished before the runner's foot started back to first. I would love to see the replay again (I knew I should have recorded that game), but from what I have seen of it it appeared to be a judgment call that could have gone either way. Anyway as close as it appeared and being it was in a championship game I think the look-back out call might not have been the proper thing to do.

Did you hear the dumb remark from one of the announcers? She said the runner should have been given a warning and then if she didn't return to the base she should be called out.... Nothin' like fun at the ole' ball park!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 106
I thought it was a questionable call. When the ball was returned from the outfield after the fly ball catch to Cat, she was outside the circle and the runner was off the base. Cat seemed to give the runner a direct look, then stepped into the circle.
When she stepped back into the circle, the runner, who was only about two strides off the base, returned to first base. Maybe not lickety split, but she did return.
__________________
MCPO(SW) USN(Ret.)
Softball Addict
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
http://sports.espn.go.com/broadband/ivp/index?id=

On this ESPN video page under "The Latest". Scroll down about 2/3.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Tue Jul 17, 2007 at 12:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 306
From looking at the replay, this is the wrong call. However if it were a LBR violation, then the umpire should make that call no matter what the game situation. Afterall if a ball is caught in flight in the first it is a out just as it is in the seventh.

I thought is was interesting that the call was made by the plate ump with her back towards F1.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Angry

Taped it and played it back several times .
This was very harsh no WRONG
As mentioned in a previous post when Kate got the ball she was outside the circle she looked at the runner , then stepped into the circle .
The runner was retreating then .
A very disappointing finish to the game .
But then there were several mistakes by the umps and the strike zone was not consistent on the outside ball .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2007, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggBob
From looking at the replay, this is the wrong call. However if it were a LBR violation, then the umpire should make that call no matter what the game situation. Afterall if a ball is caught in flight in the first it is a out just as it is in the seventh.

I thought is was interesting that the call was made by the plate ump with her back towards F1.
Glad someone else noticed that PU never saw whether or not Cat was in the circle. Guess PU was counting 1000-1001, then bang.

I thought the call was wrong, but then heck, I am not doing World Cup either.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4th Quarter ends tie game! T to coach? flsh224 Basketball 8 Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:02pm
Balk ends NCAA game TriggerMN Baseball 65 Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:04pm
Boys Varsity game ends 5-2 Rich Basketball 6 Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:12am
Triple Play Ends Game whiskers_ump Softball 0 Tue Feb 17, 2004 10:56pm
Grand Slam ends the game? TriggerMN Baseball 10 Tue May 20, 2003 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1