The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Strange One (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/36017-strange-one.html)

bigsig Wed Jun 27, 2007 09:37am

Strange One
 
Doing a Junior LL (13-14) game last night. Left hand slapper at the plate. One umpire. I’m in the slot. Pitch way inside but batter swings (strike 3) and ball hits my ball bag, knocking out other game ball. Now there are 2 balls behind the catcher. She picks one up and throws the BR out at 1B. (I have no idea wither it was the one in play or not). Coach comes out to argue that I should have called a dead ball (and of course awarded his BR 1B). I told him she picked up the right ball, end of discussion. But it brings up an interesting scenario. What’s the correct ruling on something like this?

bluezebra Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigsig
Doing a Junior LL (13-14) game last night. Left hand slapper at the plate. One umpire. I’m in the slot. Pitch way inside but batter swings (strike 3) and ball hits my ball bag, knocking out other game ball. Now there are 2 balls behind the catcher. She picks one up and throws the BR out at 1B. (I have no idea wither it was the one in play or not). Coach comes out to argue that I should have called a dead ball (and of course awarded his BR 1B). I told him she picked up the right ball, end of discussion. But it brings up an interesting scenario. What’s the correct ruling on something like this?

You lied to the coach. Without referencing any rule, "DEAD BALL". Neither the batter nor the catcher caused the problem, you did. Do over.

You need a deeper ball bag.

Bob

Andy Wed Jun 27, 2007 02:06pm

OK, Bob....you say do over.

Do over from where? Since the pitch was strike three that was not caught, we have a live ball in play.

Are you killing the play and nullifying the pitch? Batter back at the plate with the count before the pitch?

My opinion only on this play.....If the ball in play and the ball knocked out of the bag were close to each other on the ground and the catcher could pick up either one with equal effort, I let the play stand. If one ball is behind the catcher and another one is rolling around near the backstop, I will kill the play and place the BR as I judge the play would have happened without the extra ball on the field. The only rule justification I can think of off hand is Rule 10. I would probably give the benefit of the doubt to the offense, since this would all have been moot if the catcher had caught the pitch to complete the putout.

bigsig Wed Jun 27, 2007 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra
You lied to the coach. Without referencing any rule, "DEAD BALL". Neither the batter nor the catcher caused the problem, you did. Do over.

You need a deeper ball bag.

Bob

1. It was a wet field so I had 3 balls in the bag.
2. I don't understand how I caused the problem.
3. Are you suggesting that I call it a "no pitch" and I return the batter to the plate?

UMP 64 Wed Jun 27, 2007 02:45pm

Strange one
 
The ball that hit your bag, chest protector, mask, or anyother part of you or your equipment, would be a live ball, strike 3. Since another ball poped out of your bag, I would have allowed the catcher to retreave either ball and continue the play as though there were only 1 ball. Is this the correct answer? I do not know, but it sounds as though you did the same thing. I do not see how you could call a do over but what do I know. Good thinking on the job and get a deeper bag as someone else suggested. http://forum.officiating.com/images/smilies/wink.gif
;);)

NSABlue Wed Jun 27, 2007 02:53pm

It's been a few years but I believe the rule that would cover this in the LL Rule book is 9.01c

jimpiano Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigsig
Doing a Junior LL (13-14) game last night. Left hand slapper at the plate. One umpire. I’m in the slot. Pitch way inside but batter swings (strike 3) and ball hits my ball bag, knocking out other game ball. Now there are 2 balls behind the catcher. She picks one up and throws the BR out at 1B. (I have no idea wither it was the one in play or not). Coach comes out to argue that I should have called a dead ball (and of course awarded his BR 1B). I told him she picked up the right ball, end of discussion. But it brings up an interesting scenario. What’s the correct ruling on something like this?

You made the right call.

CecilOne Mon Jul 02, 2007 08:35am

Odd play
 
Not as strange as the OP, but can't remember this combo. Don't need replies/discussion about the play, just pointing out another case where we have to be aware of where runners are at every point of action.

R1/2nd, ball batted to F5, who checks R1 and throws to 1st. Throw pulls F3 off base (which BU has to call from C), BR safe. F3 tries to get R1 at 3rd, overthrown ball goes out of play. R1 of course scores, BR goes to 2nd and stops. BU waves BR to 3rd, defense objects. Meantime, BU checks with PU to confirm pulled foot at 1st and he agrees; but doesn't know whether BR gets 2nd or 3rd.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1