![]() |
Illegally Batted Ball?
Looking for an ASA rule reference on the following sitch. (Fast pitch)
Pitch is in the dirt in front of home plate, catcher tries to handle the pitch but knocks it in the air in front of her over the plate. The batter does not swing on the ball's initial time past but she swings at the mishandled pitch which is now about waist high over the plate. The ball is hit into fair territory. BTW, there are no runners on base. (If there were runners on base, then I would be inclined to call batter interference) I am looking for an ASA rule reference on whether this is legal or illegal. (My gut instinct is that it is illegal) Just looking for a rule to justify it. |
How about 7-6-Q? Were there other runners on base?
|
Quote:
That statement would seem to indicate no. :D |
Dead ball, batter returns to box, count includes "ball" on last pitch....
|
Quote:
Anyway, with no runners on, and therefore nobody stealing and therefore no play being made, this is a nothing (dead ball). 7-6-Q EXCEPTION. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am. |