The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference while Standing on 3B (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/34370-interference-while-standing-3b.html)

bwbuddy Tue May 08, 2007 09:05am

Interference while Standing on 3B
 
I had originally posted this on the baseball board, but since the ASA book has confused me, I thought I would post here too (I may be umping ASA this summer).

--- Sitch: R3, 1 out. Batter pops up in foul territory beside 3B. F5 breaks to catch popup. R3 stood on 3B, watching popup as well. F5 crashes into R3 (while standing on base), and can't make catch. Assuming that in umpire's judgement, catch could have been made with normal effort had the crash not occurred, what is the call? ---

Here's what I found in the ASA book:

--- Rule 8, Section 7: "The batter is out when:" J. "When the runner interferes:

1. With the fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3. Intentionally with a thrown ball.

EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

EXCEPTION: If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball (fair or foul) with ordinary effort, the batter is also out. ---

I couldn't immediately locate a reference to standing on the base, so any assistance would be appreciated.

mcrowder Tue May 08, 2007 10:07am

The base is irrelevant - and interference, in the ASA sense, is an active verb not a passive verb. I have nothing on this play.

SRW Tue May 08, 2007 11:15am

Did the runner impede, hinder or confuse the defensive player? Were they in contact with a legally occupied base when the hinderance occured? Was the interference intentional?

Refer to R/S #33 section A.1.c.

Skahtboi Tue May 08, 2007 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwbuddy
I had originally posted this on the baseball board, but since the ASA book has confused me, I thought I would post here too (I may be umping ASA this summer).

--- Sitch: R3, 1 out. Batter pops up in foul territory beside 3B. F5 breaks to catch popup. R3 stood on 3B, watching popup as well. F5 crashes into R3 (while standing on base), and can't make catch. Assuming that in umpire's judgement, catch could have been made with normal effort had the crash not occurred, what is the call? ---

Here's what I found in the ASA book:

--- Rule 8, Section 7: "The batter is out when:" J. "When the runner interferes:

1. With the fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3. Intentionally with a thrown ball.

EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

EXCEPTION: If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball (fair or foul) with ordinary effort, the batter is also out. ---

I couldn't immediately locate a reference to standing on the base, so any assistance would be appreciated.


You've been given two applicable answers.

Oh, and for softball, that would be R1 that is stationed at third.

bwbuddy Wed May 09, 2007 06:59am

I agree with all of you, but am still a bit of a devil's advocate when it comes to the wording of the rules. If the coach showed me the section of the ASA book that I outlined above, it would be difficult to argue (s/he could care less what I read on a discussion board). Here's my concerns:

a) In 8.7.J, item 3 my first post, the word "intentionally" is used in reference to a thrown ball. In items 1 and 2, the word "intentionally" is not used, which, right or wrong, leads to the belief that intention is not needed.

b) In OBR under the same section, it specifically mentions <paraphrase> that if the runner is on base when a crash of this type occurs, he will not be called out. However, no such exception is mentioned in ASA.

Just trying to anticipate what may come up (and probably being over-paranoid).

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 09, 2007 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwbuddy
I agree with all of you, but am still a bit of a devil's advocate when it comes to the wording of the rules. If the coach showed me the section of the ASA book that I outlined above, it would be difficult to argue (s/he could care less what I read on a discussion board). Here's my concerns:

a) In 8.7.J, item 3 my first post, the word "intentionally" is used in reference to a thrown ball. In items 1 and 2, the word "intentionally" is not used, which, right or wrong, leads to the belief that intention is not needed.


b) In OBR under the same section, it specifically mentions
that if the runner is on base when a crash of this type occurs, he will not be called out. However, no such exception is mentioned in ASA.

Just trying to anticipate what may come up (and probably being over-paranoid).

Don't give a damn about baseball rules, and if you are going to be working softball, you need to separate the two games. If you cannot, you may want to reconsider working softball until you have had the opportunity to attend a clinic or two. (Those in hell must have just felt a slight chill, I just suggested someone not work softball!)

You need a new ASA rule book, you are citing old rules which have been changed. The word intentional no longer exists in 8.7.J.1-3.

In softball, the base is a haven for the runner who can only be forced to leave it when the batter becomes a batter-runner which forces the runner to advance to the next base. The ASA book is the rule in it's whole and cannot be parsed by sentence or paragraph. As the umpire, you must know the rules, rules supplements, attend the appropriate clinics and schools EVERY year. Each compliments the other and provides the umpire with the proper guidance.

bwbuddy Wed May 09, 2007 08:19am

I'm glad all of you are so confident in your convictions - that's half the battle.

Now, since you brought up the rule change, please comment on this text from the 2007 Rule Changes section:

"Rule 8 Section 7J3: When a runner interferes with a thrown ball.

Comments (from asa): This rule now clarifies the previous interpretation that the batter-runner was also included. It also removes 'intentionally' from the rule and allows the umpire to judge interference and not intent. It also matches the rule to the definition."

mcrowder Wed May 09, 2007 08:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwbuddy
I'm glad all of you are so confident in your convictions - that's half the battle.

Now, since you brought up the rule change, please comment on this text from the 2007 Rule Changes section:

"Rule 8 Section 7J3: When a runner interferes with a thrown ball.

Comments (from asa): This rule now clarifies the previous interpretation that the batter-runner was also included. It also removes 'intentionally' from the rule and allows the umpire to judge interference and not intent. It also matches the rule to the definition."

What sort of comment are you looking for? We've discussed this wording change (not a rule change) ad infinitum here already. What exactly are you asking?

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 09, 2007 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwbuddy
I'm glad all of you are so confident in your convictions - that's half the battle.

Now, since you brought up the rule change, please comment on this text from the 2007 Rule Changes section:

"Rule 8 Section 7J3: When a runner interferes with a thrown ball.

Comments (from asa): This rule now clarifies the previous interpretation that the batter-runner was also included. It also removes 'intentionally' from the rule and allows the umpire to judge interference and not intent. It also matches the rule to the definition."

IMO, the change and comments muddy the water more than the old rule, but it is just as it says. The player must do something to interfere. IOW, a runner who is advancing or retreating as they are supposed to do is not interfering with a thrown ball if they are hit. If they do anything which causes interference (change course, raise their hands, etc.), now it is INT.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1