The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   on deck batter interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/34189-deck-batter-interference.html)

Little Jimmy Wed May 02, 2007 07:58pm

on deck batter interference?
 
This happened today. Fed game. I'm in the field. R1 on second. Batter squares to bunt. She misses with no apparent bat contact. Ball bounces off the backstop over to the on deck batter who bends down, picks it up, and tosses it to the catcher. R1 takes a few steps to possibly try for third but stops maybe twenty feet off second when on deck batter handles the ball. Plate ump calls dead ball and keeps R1 at second because, he says, everyone must have thought it was a foul ball, even though it wasn't. All participants bought it and we moved on.

After the game we discussed the play and neither of us was sure if his ruling could be considered right (even though he sold it). And I've been looking for some type of interference situation involving the on deck batter and so far I'm dry. Can anyone site a Fed rule dealing with the on deck batter handling a live ball?

AtlUmpSteve Wed May 02, 2007 08:53pm

Well, without citing specific rules, we can still have a quality discussion. It is obviously a blocked ball; we have to decide if it interference, or simply blocked and dead ball.

This becomes a judgment; was there a play that the defense had that was hindered by the act? Without a play, that is hindered, there can't be an interference call, by the definition of interference. In this case, the runner (IMO) saved his dumb teammate by not running, in that he took away any play the defense might have made. Unless you are ready to determine that the catcher was ready to pick that runner off 2B, it is reasonable to accept a blocked ball without penalty. If the runner continued, and there was any chance in he!! the catcher has a play, it must be interference.

Little Jimmy Wed May 02, 2007 08:56pm

I'm looking through the 2006 ASA rulebook and 7-1-D covers this quite clearly. Still can't find a specific Fed rule.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 02, 2007 10:33pm

Remember, there must be a play with which the player actually interfered with for the umpire to rule interference. 7.1.D specifically requires the umpire to judge that the ODB deprived the defense from making an out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1