The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 16, 2007, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
What about 8-4.G(5), awarded bases apply to all runners? If you are prepared to award her 3rd on the obstruction, doesn't that apply? I'm not sure; just asking. I can also see ignoring the obstruction, as you did; similar to the obstructed BR on a fly out.

Speaking championship play only; in any other setting, opening that can of worms is certainly not worth it.
The way I see it, you award the base she would have attained had there been no obstruction. That base is 2B. The protection is in place because if the R attempts a base beyond which they are entitled they can be put out (hence the proper OBS signal). I think it would be a reach outside the scope of 10UB to award them an extra base that they would not have attained had their been no OBS and they were safe @3B.

IE, that would be a punitive award of 3B.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1