The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   lPitcher Batting Procedures (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/33488-lpitcher-batting-procedures.html)

whiskers_ump Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:28am

lPitcher Batting Procedures
 
In ASA, NFHS, AFA, NCAA:


Pitcher is #9 in the order and bats in the second inning.
In the fourth inning we have the bases loaded and 2 outs when
the pitchers spot is due up. Can little Sally bat in the #9 hole
and the pitcher re-enter to pitch. ( if she never left the circle on defense ) ?

wadeintothem Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
In ASA, NFHS, AFA, NCAA:


Pitcher is #9 in the order and bats in the second inning.
In the fourth inning we have the bases loaded and 2 outs when
the pitchers spot is due up. Can little Sally bat in the #9 hole
and the pitcher re-enter to pitch. ( if she never left the circle on defense ) ?

In ASA it's just a sub. I presume that sally is an eligible sub.. so sub her in, then the pitcher can reenter. Some coaches who try this try to do the ole "she will bat then reenter the pitcher" i.e. trying to do the sub/reenter in one meeting but I don't allow that.

umpharp Sun Apr 08, 2007 01:26pm

Sounds legal to me.....the first time they do it.....not the second.

Andy Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:01pm

This seems like a pretty straightforward question and answer, Glen.

Is there something else going on here that we're missing?

whiskers_ump Mon Apr 09, 2007 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andy
This seems like a pretty straightforward question and answer, Glen.

Is there something else going on here that we're missing?

It is straightforward. I thought maybe I was missing something. Too many times this year I have followed umpires that have told a coach, if you pull
the pitcher, she can re-enter, but may not pitch again. This is NFHS ball,
and I have seen nothing stating that.

Az.Ump Mon Apr 09, 2007 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
It is straightforward. I thought maybe I was missing something. Too many times this year I have followed umpires that have told a coach, if you pull
the pitcher, she can re-enter, but may not pitch again. This is NFHS ball,
and I have seen nothing stating that.

Baseball rules applied to softball. :mad:

Paul


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1