The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Slap hitter changing from Left to right side (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/32778-slap-hitter-changing-left-right-side.html)

MarkPSkins Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:08pm

Slap hitter changing from Left to right side
 
I searched for something covering this, but could find nothing. In an NFSA tournament this past weekend we had a batter called for interference in this scenario. I would also like any thoughts on ASA and NFHS.

Batter was taking signs from third base coach while standing outside the left side batter box. The pitcher was waiting on the rubber. Was the umpire's hand up? I don't recall, but IMO it should have been. Never-the-less, the batter's sign called for her to turn around and bat from the right side. She walked between the catcher and home plate and the PU called her out for interference. No pitch was ever thrown. Matter-of-fact both coaches had to be explained to what had happened. It was not like the other teams said, "Hey!"

Is there a rule that states a batter must change sides behind the umpire. I mean this was a timeout situation and it seems awfully nit-pickey to me.

NDblue Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:24pm

As far as I know, in ASA there was no rule infraction. As long as there's no interference of a pitch being thrown, the batter can switch boxes whenever they want and it doesn't have to be behind the PU. (S)he can step over the plate.

Dakota Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:42pm

NFHS rule 7-3-3. If the pitcher was in position, ready to pitch, it was the correct call. If the umpire was holding up the pitch, it was the incorrect call. The rule is to prevent the batter from "disconcerting" the pitcher.

Simlar ASA rule is 7-3-D.

Skahtboi Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:19pm

Again, Tom is correct on all counts. If play was suspended, then there is no infraction. If, however, the pitcher was ready to pitch, and as far as the umpire was concerned, the ball was live, then the rules Tom cited will cover this play.

MarkPSkins Thu Mar 15, 2007 02:58pm

Thanks Guys, I appreciate it.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Mar 15, 2007 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDblue
As far as I know, in ASA there was no rule infraction. As long as there's no interference of a pitch being thrown, the batter can switch boxes whenever they want and it doesn't have to be behind the PU. (S)he can step over the plate.

ASA does have Rule 7-3.D; "The batter shall not step directly in front of the catcher to the other batters box while the pitcher (FP) is taking the signal or (SP) is in position to pitch, or anytime thereafter prior to the release of the pitch. EFFECT: The ball is dead, the batter is out, and the runners may not advance.

hotmatt Thu Mar 15, 2007 03:47pm

Quote:

NFHS rule 7-3-3.
Actually, it's 7-4-3.

Dakota Thu Mar 15, 2007 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hotmatt
Actually, it's 7-4-3.

I should have noted 2006. In 2006 it is 7-3-3, actually.

CecilOne Thu Mar 15, 2007 06:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
I should have noted 2006. In 2006 it is 7-3-3, actually.

Somebody please send new rule boks to Minnesota. :p

Dakota Thu Mar 15, 2007 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Somebody please send new rule books to Minnesota. :p

Oh, they're here. I'm just too much of a procrastinator to send in my money until I have to. So, I don't have mine, yet. :cool:

JEL Fri Mar 16, 2007 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Oh, they're here. I'm just too much of a procrastinator to send in my money until I have to. So, I don't have mine, yet. :cool:


Since we don't play FED in GA until the fall, we don't get 'em until much later. That lets you(se) guys work out the kinks in the new season!

Thanks!!

scottk_61 Fri Mar 16, 2007 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarkPSkins
I searched for something covering this, but could find nothing. In an NFSA tournament this past weekend we had a batter called for interference in this scenario. I would also like any thoughts on ASA and NFHS.

Batter was taking signs from third base coach while standing outside the left side batter box. The pitcher was waiting on the rubber. Was the umpire's hand up? I don't recall, but IMO it should have been. Never-the-less, the batter's sign called for her to turn around and bat from the right side. She walked between the catcher and home plate and the PU called her out for interference. No pitch was ever thrown. Matter-of-fact both coaches had to be explained to what had happened. It was not like the other teams said, "Hey!"

Is there a rule that states a batter must change sides behind the umpire. I mean this was a timeout situation and it seems awfully nit-pickey to me.

Correct call. Move on.

NDblue Mon Mar 19, 2007 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarkPSkins
I mean this was a timeout situation and it seems awfully nit-pickey to me.

Like I said, no rule infraction. The PU was wrong in calling the batter out. The batter, the way I see it didn't interfer with a pitch or a signal to the pitcher from catcher.

Dakota Mon Mar 19, 2007 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDblue
Like I said, no rule infraction. The PU was wrong in calling the batter out. The batter, the way I see it didn't interfer with a pitch or a signal to the pitcher from catcher.

Unfortunately, that (the underlined part) is not what the rule says is the standard.

Assuming the PU was not holding up the pitch when the batter stepped across, and assuming the pitcher was on the plate ready to pitch (SP or NFHS) or was taking or had already taken the signs from the catcher (ASA FP), this was the correct call.

WestMichBlue Mon Mar 19, 2007 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Assuming the PU was not holding up the pitch when the batter stepped across, and assuming the pitcher was on the plate ready to pitch or was taking or had already taken the signs from the catcher

If the pitcher is on the plate before the batter is ready, then the PU's hand better be up!

This is one of my pet peeves, especially with younger pitchers. They are so anxious to pitch that if you don't stop them, they'll fire before the batter is ready. It won't be long until I tire of holding up my arm and I am having a discussion with the pitcher and/or coach about staying off the plate until the batter is ready.

As a former pitching coach I know that a pitcher develops a better rhythm by waiting until the batter is ready, then stepping up, taking a signal, and going into her motion. She, rather than the batter, controls the pace, and is able to have the same timing every pitch. By time a girl has pitched a few years she will have learned this.

With a good 16U or varsity pitcher I almost never have my hand up. They will wait for the batter to finish scratching and moving, and to bring their eyes up. Then the pitcher steps up and goes.

In the OP the umpire should have had his hand up. Then the out call would never happen. IMO, poor technique on the umpire's part.

WMB

AtlUmpSteve Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:52pm

WMB, I don't disagree. BUT, NCAA mechanics preach DO NOT hold up a pitcher until and unless she quick pitches, since most do not pitch until the batter is ready.

So, I will not have my hand up; just as you will not with a good pitcher. The problem is that we don't know if this was a good pitcher; some good ones do wait on the pitching plate, ready to go. If that happened, the rule is clear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1