![]() |
Multiple Runners on a base - funny
After all the stuff about multiple runners on a base yesterday, it should be natural that something would come up last night.
Working a scrimmage - very informal, 12U. No outs, R2 - VERY high pop up. BR is standing on 2nd as F4 fails to catch it about 2 steps from 2nd. R2 is still there. And apparently, R2 and BR are very bright - need to recruit them as umpires in about 6 years. F4 tags R2. Nothing from me. F4 moves to tag BR and R2 steps off the base. F4 tries to tag R2 again as she gets back on the base. Nothing. F4 moves to tag BR again, R2 steps off, F4 actually tags BR this time on her right shoulder, and seems to get it - then tries to swipe the tag at R2, who hits the deck, and ends up with her hand on the base before getting tagged. F4 tags BR again, and R2 removes her hand from the base. Just as I think F4 is going to figure out how to get an out, she gets pissed off, throws the ball straight down in frustration, hitting the back corner of 2nd base. The ball shoots out into right center. Both runs score. |
Those were a couple of very rules aware runners! (At least, R1 was.) {forget which board you were on again?} ;)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Happened Yesterday.....
GJV game. Runner on 1B. Short fly ball to RF. F9 gets a glove on it then drops it. R1 scurries back to 1B. BR is on 1B. So F3 then touches R1 -I have an out do to the fact that R1 was forced. Visiting coach wants an explanantion- I explain it and away we went.....These posts really came in handy yesterday......I am also assuming that I got this right.....
|
you got it.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
What if the fielder tagged the other runner first??
|
R2 was entitled to second base, because she was the lead runner, and BR did not have to go to second. So BR was "exposed", and in your case BR would have been out, had she been tagged when R2 was also on the base. But when R2 was OFF the base, then the base protects BR. That's why R2 was taking her foot or hand off the base when they tagged BR, and that's why BR was NOT out.
They should have gotten very close to the base and quickly tagged BR before R2 had the chance to get off. In that case, BR would have been out. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am. |