The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   How about an umpire's nightmare. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/3226-how-about-umpires-nightmare.html)

Dakota Tue Nov 20, 2001 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA
Tie ball game with 2 outs UNLESS the umpire's rule that F3's <u>intention</u> was to confuse the defense. ... The rule says that a runner continuing to run MAY be considered a form of interference, didn't say the umpire MUST rule interference.

F9 never left playable territory while in possession of the ball according to the scenario. However, even if F9 held the ball, a collapsed fence is NOT considered DBT. For the ball to be ruled dead at this point, F9 would have had to have an entire part of her body (foot, hand, shoulder, umpire's descretion) completely off the collapsed fence and in DBT for the umpire to rule the ball dead.

Mike,
I agree wrt the fence. I think it is POE 20 that clarifies that a collapsed fence is still in LBT.

Wrt the interference, I <u>mostly</u> agree - it is left to umpire judgment whether to call interference, since the rule does say <b>may</b> and not <b>must</b>.

My small disagreement is that judging <b>intent</b> is not the only thing that can result in an interference call. Stupid base running can also result in the interference call, IMO, since the rule does not require intent in drawing the throw. It says <font color=blue>A runner continuing to run <u>and drawing a throw</u> may be ...</font> It doesn't say "continuing to run <u>to</u> draw a throw" - just that the running <u>did</u> draw a throw.

In the play described, the runner should have known she was out, but all of the fielders may not have known, and assuming the defense had a play on R1 going home, but instead went for the easier "out" on R3. I would call this interference.

If you don't call the interference, then the home team wins - game over - since 2 runs scored (R1 and R2) - right?

[Edited by Dakota on Nov 20th, 2001 at 11:37 AM]

IRISHMAFIA Tue Nov 20, 2001 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
[B
My small disagreement is that judging <b>intent</b> is not the only thing that can result in an interference call. Stupid base running can also result in the interference call, IMO, since the rule does not require intent in drawing the throw. It says <font color=blue>A runner continuing to run <u>and drawing a throw</u> may be ...</font> It doesn't say "continuing to run <u>to</u> draw a throw" - just that the running <u>did</u> draw a throw.

In the play described, the runner should have known she was out, but all of the fielders may not have known, and assuming the defense had a play on R1 going home, but instead went for the easier "out" on R3. I would call this interference. [/B]
This is why I would like to have witnessed the call. If there was a call, maybe it was weak and not sold. You know how loud it gets when things begin happening in a JO game d:-)

The reason I mentioned intent was because the first sentence of the rule being quoted (8.8.P) states, "When, after being put out or scoring, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner."

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that is THE call and no other possibility exist, but lacking further details, it could have been the proper ruling.


Dakota Tue Nov 20, 2001 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that is THE call and no other possibility exist, but lacking further details, it could have been the proper ruling.

We are in agreement!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1