The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   OK obs and missed base live ball appeal (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/32048-ok-obs-missed-base-live-ball-appeal.html)

Dakota Tue Feb 20, 2007 04:09pm

OK obs and missed base live ball appeal
 
Launching off of a question from eteamz.... (ASA rules)

No runners on base. B1 bunts. F5 fields the bunt and makes a bad throw to F3, high and wide. F3 stretches to reach the throw, misses the throw and falls across both bases and ends up sprawled, covering the bases. BR hurdles F3, overrunning the base (missing the base). F9, backing up the throw, fields the wild throw and tosses it back to F3. After hurdling F3, BR puts on the brakes and scrambles back to 1B but has not reached it yet. F3 has the ball and is in contact with 1B, looks at you and says, "She missed the base, Blue."

You say...

IRISHMAFIA Tue Feb 20, 2007 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Launching off of a question from eteamz.... (ASA rules)

No runners on base. B1 bunts. F5 fields the bunt and makes a bad throw to F3, high and wide. F3 stretches to reach the throw, misses the throw and falls across both bases and ends up sprawled, covering the bases. BR hurdles F3, overrunning the base (missing the base). F9, backing up the throw, fields the wild throw and tosses it back to F3. After hurdling F3, BR puts on the brakes and scrambles back to 1B but has not reached it yet. F3 has the ball and is in contact with 1B, looks at you and says, "She missed the base, Blue."

You say...

Obstruction, award B1 first base.

tcannizzo Tue Feb 20, 2007 09:14pm

What he said.

azbigdawg Wed Feb 21, 2007 02:44am

ditto......

Skahtboi Wed Feb 21, 2007 09:40am

Yup.......

CecilOne Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Launching off of a question from eteamz.... (ASA rules)

No runners on base. B1 bunts. F5 fields the bunt and makes a bad throw to F3, high and wide. F3 stretches to reach the throw, misses the throw and falls across both bases and ends up sprawled, covering the bases. BR hurdles F3, overrunning the base (missing the base). F9, backing up the throw, fields the wild throw and tosses it back to F3. After hurdling F3, BR puts on the brakes and scrambles back to 1B but has not reached it yet. F3 has the ball and is in contact with 1B, looks at you and says, "She missed the base, Blue."

You say...

OBSTRUCTION! --- SAFE! --- SAFE,
to this semi-annual question.

Dakota Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:11am

OK, why? Rule reference?

BR missed the base while being obstructed. BR is attempting to return to retouch and is no longer obstructed. Live ball appeal made prior to retouch.

CecilOne Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
OK, why? Rule reference?

BR missed the base while being obstructed. BR is attempting to return to retouch and is no longer obstructed. Live ball appeal made prior to retouch.

Already safe on the original pass of the base.
The appeal is a non-factor, as if the runner had actually touched a non-obstructed base, unless violating some LBR clause but the OP does not say that.
Caveat: the hurdle had to be over a prone defender.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Feb 21, 2007 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Already safe on the original pass of the base.
The appeal is a non-factor, as if the runner had actually touched a non-obstructed base, unless violating some LBR clause but the OP does not say that.
Caveat: the hurdle had to be over a prone defender.

ASA rules. Runner can leap regardless of defender's position.

mcrowder Wed Feb 21, 2007 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
OK, why? Rule reference?

BR missed the base while being obstructed. BR is attempting to return to retouch and is no longer obstructed. Live ball appeal made prior to retouch.

Live ball appeal is just the same as if this runner DID touch, and was tagged after rounding. It's a play on a previously obstructed runner. Dead ball, award bases.

The more confusing (to some) case is if this particular runner was halfway to 2nd when F9 threw to first. Then, you have a dead ball, and 2nd base awarded. BUT - runner must retouch 1st once 2nd is awarded, or she is subject to a dead-ball appeal.

SteveJ Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:19am

until the runner actually achieves the base (i.e. first base), apply the obstruction rule, regardless whether the first baseman got up off both bags or not. the POE here is whether the runner actually achieved the bag to which they were entitled had the obstruction not occured.:D

CecilOne Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
ASA rules. Runner can leap regardless of defender's position.

Sorry, my brain is NFHS-tuned, didn't absorb the OP ref to ASA.

rodan55 Mon Feb 26, 2007 02:24pm

Aren't the runners considered to have acheive the base once they have passed it. If missed then becomes an appeal?

CecilOne Mon Feb 26, 2007 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rodan55
Aren't the runners considered to have acheive the base once they have passed it. If missed then becomes an appeal?

If not obstructed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1