The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Alternate Question #27 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/32043-asa-alternate-question-27-a.html)

rwest Tue Feb 20, 2007 02:51pm

ASA Alternate Question #27
 
The DP, on 1B, is replaced by a substitute. Later in the game the starting DP re-enters as a batter and reaches 1B safely. A second substitute replaces the DP as a runner. During extra innings, the starting DP is a home plate with a 1-2 count when the defense brings it to the attention of the umpire. The umpire should:

A: Eject the DP for an illegal substitution
B: Replace the DP with a substitute because the original DP is still at bat
C: Disqualify the DP and replace with a legal substitute or the FLEX.
D: Disqualify the DP and replace with the Flex.


This is an illegal re-entry. Under Rule 4-6-4-a....An illegal re-entry occurs when a starting player returns to the game a second time after being substituted for twice. The effect for Rule 4-6-4 says... Any infraction of sections G2-4 that occurs are governed by the Unreported Substitute rule. Rule 4 Section 6 A-C1-9.

No where in Section 6 A-C1-9 does it describe the penalty for an unreported substitute/illegal re-entry when discovered while at bat. The rule mentions a batter reaching base safely and what to do when the infraction is brought to the attention of the umpire before and after the next pitch.

By process of elimination I've come to the conclusion that the answer is either C or D. A can't be correct because the illegal re-entry is not penalized with an ejection. The player is disqualified, but not ejected.

B can't be correct because it doesn't mention a disqualification.

I'm guessing C, because I believe you can replace the illegal player with a substitute, if one is available.

What is the procedure for a player who re-enters illegally and is discovered while at bat and where is it documented?

Dakota Tue Feb 20, 2007 03:23pm

I don't yet have the 2007 book, but in 2006, the rule that applies is 4-6-C-1. Since the count on the DP is 1-2, at least 3 pitches have been thrown. I think that should give you your answer.

rwest Tue Feb 20, 2007 03:30pm

4-6-c-1
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
I don't yet have the 2007 book, but in 2006, the rule that applies is 4-6-C-1. Since the count on the DP is 1-2, at least 3 pitches have been thrown. I think that should give you your answer.

4-6-C-1 says that the player is disqualified and all action stands. So that doesn't really help much. It doesn't indicate whether a substitute is allowed or if only the FLEX can replace the disqualified player.

Dakota Tue Feb 20, 2007 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
4-6-C-1 says that the player is disqualified and all action stands. So that doesn't really help much. It doesn't indicate whether a substitute is allowed or if only the FLEX can replace the disqualified player.

Since it doesn't say otherwise, wouldn't standard substitution rules for a DQed player apply? If not, why not?

tcannizzo Tue Feb 20, 2007 03:57pm

C. DQ the DP and replace with legal sub for DP.

Skahtboi Wed Feb 21, 2007 09:46am

If you read R/S 51, I believe that you will discover the correct answer, which has already been given. (See post above)

CecilOne Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest
4-6-C-1 says that the player is disqualified and all action stands. So that doesn't really help much. It doesn't indicate whether a substitute is allowed or if only the FLEX can replace the disqualified player.

When is there a time that the DP can be substituted for only by the FLEX?

Dakota Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
When is there a time that the DP can be substituted for only by the FLEX?

When there are no other eligible substitutes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1