The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   What a Catch!! or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/32037-what-catch-not.html)

Frank Lemon Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:42am

What a Catch!! or Not?
 
http://youtube.com/watch?v=5ZxqUjklqQI

I'm sure many of you have seen this play, and based on Rules Supplement #20 in the 2007 rulebook, in my opinion this should be an out. But what if she is standing on the collapsed fence prior to catching the ball in what would have been home run territory?

The rule reads in part, "when a collapsible, portable fence is used and a defensive player is standing on the fence when the catch is made, it is a legal catch; therefore a defensive player should be able to stand on a fence that has fallen or is falling to the ground. As long as the defensive player has not stepped outside the playing area, the other side of the fence, the catch is legal."

So if the fence falls toward home run territory, does it essentially extend the field? Can the defense stand on a collapsed fence in what was home run territory just seconds earlier, and make a legal catch?

CecilOne Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:03pm

She clearly caught the ball before knocking down the barrier or passing it.
Was there an ump in position to see that, without replay? I see someone behind the SS, presumably an umpire going out, but can't tell if the angle was good enough. Looks to me like one foot might have still been inside the fence at the catch.

Of course, the Q is the rule itself, and whether a collapsed fence extends the field. It does not "extend the field" if we see the fence as "defining the field". There is no rule spec distance, other than a recommended max and min.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:04pm

You didn't cite the rules you are quoting.

In ASA, this is a catch. And, in this circumstance, one helluva catch!

ADDED: If this was not the third out of the inning, the moment the OF touched the ground outside the fence, the ball would be declared dead and all runners awarded one base.

Frank Lemon Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:18pm

Speaking ASA, my bad.

SC Ump Tue Feb 20, 2007 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
If this was not the third out of the inning, the moment the OF touched the ground outside the fence, the ball would be declared dead and all runners awarded one base.

I was noting that the score board in the upper right hand corner of the screen listed one out. I was waiting for the defensive player to throw in to get the runner at first out, presuming she was not tagged up already. I would have been incorrect, because you are right that the ball would be dead.

So that raises another question. Would R1, assuming she was not tagged up, be allowed to return to 1B, since she touched 2B, 3B and home after the ball was dead?

WestMichBlue Wed Feb 21, 2007 01:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frank Lemon
Speaking ASA, my bad.

Actually - no. This is a high school game, assumably under NFHS rules. As long as a temp fence is not completely horizontal when a fielder makes contact or steps on it, we have a legal catch. Then, of course she falls into DBT, so advance runners one base. (From last base achieved at time of dead ball)

Same answer Mike gave for ASA.

BTW - Dan - it is not unusual for HS scoreboards to be wrong. Unlike Rec fields with a press box and experienced attendant, most HS control panels (at least around here) are in the home side dugout run by a third-stringer or who ever the coach could recruit. I frequently flash the count or outs into the dugout or check run totals, as most players and coaches will look at the scoreboard to make playing decisions.

Quote:

So that raises another question. Would R1, assuming she was not tagged up, be allowed to return to 1B, since she touched 2B, 3B and home after the ball was dead?
Yes. However, if she was already past 2B at time of dead ball, then she would be awarded 3B, and not allowed to return to 1B, and called out on appeal for 3rd out.

Whatever the rule, it was an awesome catch. We never will know if the umpires got it right. The "talking heads" sure as h*ll were out in left field!

WMB

Frank Lemon Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Actually - no. This is a high school game, assumably under NFHS rules. As long as a temp fence is not completely horizontal when a fielder makes contact or steps on it, we have a legal catch. Then, of course she falls into DBT, so advance runners one base. (From last base achieved at time of dead ball)

Same answer Mike gave for ASA.


WMB


I didn't mean to imply this was an ASA game, I was looking for what the ruling would be if it were being played under ASA rules.

WestMichBlue Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frank Lemon
I didn't mean to imply this was an ASA game, I was looking for what the ruling would be if it were being played under ASA rules.

OK, then in the video we have a catch in either rule set.

But your question was: "Can the defense stand on a collapsed fence in what was home run territory just seconds earlier, and make a legal catch?"

ASA - yes. (per R.S. #20) NFHS - no. (per 2003 Softball Guide)

WMB

CecilOne Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
OK, then in the video we have a catch in either rule set.

But your question was: "Can the defense stand on a collapsed fence in what was home run territory just seconds earlier, and make a legal catch?"

ASA - yes. (per R.S. #20) NFHS - no. (per 2003 Softball Guide)

WMB

Although in the OP video, even in NFHS it would be legal and an out followed by dead ball as you said "As long as a temp fence is not completely horizontal when a fielder makes contact or steps on it, we have a legal catch".

Dakota Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
...Rec fields with a press box and experienced attendant, ...

You're joking, right?? :eek:

CecilOne Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
You're joking, right?? :eek:

No, he meant the nats in OKC. :D :D :p

AtlUmpSteve Wed Feb 21, 2007 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
I was noting that the score board in the upper right hand corner of the screen listed one out. I was waiting for the defensive player to throw in to get the runner at first out, presuming she was not tagged up already. I would have been incorrect, because you are right that the ball would be dead.

So that raises another question. Would R1, assuming she was not tagged up, be allowed to return to 1B, since she touched 2B, 3B and home after the ball was dead?

In ASA, yes. Runners may legally return to any number of bases during dead ball, so long as the umpire handles his mechanics properly, and allows the return, and not just award bases immediately. If the umpire announces the award, and the runner stops at 2nd without returning, then the appeal can be heard.

Also, and as a "by the way", I was given the response to the "extending the field" concern by Henry Pollard years ago. His statement was that if a fence was solid and permanent, it is legal for a fielder to climb up that fence; so all levels of baseball and softball have, in fact, extended the field upwards by allowing the fielder to reach from a spot above the field. Accordingly, he compared standing on the fence in its down position to being no more advantage than climbing a solid fence; and felt that the defense deserved to get an equivalent benefit, and not be penalized by the temporary fence.

argodad Thu Feb 22, 2007 01:57pm

NFHS game. As others have clearly posted, we have a catch, an out, and runners awarded one base on the catch and carry into dead ball territory.

However, the most striking thing about the video clip is the complete ignorance of the announcers. These guys make Tim McCarver look like a rules expert. Reminds me of the new ESPN commercials in which the guy is talking sports out of his "backside." :D

Where is it that HS games are televised? Kailua? Hawaii?

argodad Thu Feb 22, 2007 02:01pm

Anyone know what the ruling was in the actual game?

scottk_61 Thu Feb 22, 2007 02:12pm

I just watched the video and man oh man.
Announcers and their arrogance/stupidity.

Anybody notice the ump's uniform?
Are they wearing Elbecos?

Skahtboi Thu Feb 22, 2007 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad
Where is it that HS games are televised? Kailua? Hawaii?

Apparently in Hawaii, as you guessed. A quick google showed both Castle and Kailua to be HS in Hawaii. This is what I found!

I Ump 2 Sat Feb 24, 2007 02:03pm

I was in HI while this was being played. My brother in law was in the hospital so he and his room mate had to watch HS softball & not a college bowl game - I could move around - they were bed ridden - I had the "clicker."

The catch was not the most controversial part of the play. It was after the "catch" was called a "hit." R1 on 1st base headed back to 1st base thinking it was a catch - as - you guessed it - BR was rounding 1st toward 2nd and NO ONE could tell if the BR had passed R1 - that is why BR & R1 were so close together rounding the bases.

What amazed me was that the defensive did not challenege any of the rulings. My because it was pouring down rain most of the game. The game did go into extra innings - but the nurse came into the room & I had to leave & I have no idea who won.

I'm new to the board - where is spell check????????????

Mountaineer Sat Feb 24, 2007 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by I Ump 2
The catch was not the most controversial part of the play. It was after the "catch" was called a "hit." R1 on 1st base headed back to 1st base thinking it was a catch - as - you guessed it - BR was rounding 1st toward 2nd and NO ONE could tell if the BR had passed R1 - that is why BR & R1 were so close together rounding the bases.

He is absolutely correct! If you notice it's #5 batting and watch them as they round the bases - she's the first runner to touch 2nd. Looks like you have 2 umpires watching the ball and none watching the batter-runner.

Quote:

Originally Posted by I Ump 2
I'm new to the board - where is spell check????????????

We usually provide that service free of charge. If we can't find something in your post to ridicule you - we then look at your spelling.

shipwreck Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:12pm

Larry, go back and look at the video. It is number 8 that is batting not number 5. They are running the bases correctly. You have to look closely but #8 is for sure batting. Dave

I Ump 2 Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:22pm

The runners rounded the bases correctly - but at the point with R1 going back to 1st & BR rounding 1st heading to 2nd - no one could tell IF the BR had past R1 for an instant.

It was a GREAT catch. It was a good hit.

Mountaineer Sun Feb 25, 2007 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
Larry, go back and look at the video. It is number 8 that is batting not number 5. They are running the bases correctly. You have to look closely but #8 is for sure batting. Dave

I did and I stand corrected . . .

appswl Mon Apr 09, 2007 09:46pm

William
 
I have a catch. Possession as she hits the fence.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1