![]() |
NCAA rule book question
I must be missing something but can someone tell me what the rulebook is saying on this rule from the 2007 NCAA rule book? Page 108, A.R. 9-3c6. A runner who misses a base or leaves a base before a fly ball is first touched and is obstructed while advancing would not be protected when returning to the base missed or left too soon; however, she would be protected while trying to return to the base. This seems they are contradicting themselves by the way it is stated. What am I reading incorrectly? Dave
|
The intent of the rule is this: If a runner commits an infraction (one of the two listed), and is advancing afterwards and is obstructed, she can be succesfully appealed for the infraction (missing a base, or leaving too early on a fly ball). If the runner commits an infraction, realizes it, and is attempting to return to correct the infraction, and is obstructed while returning, she cannot be succesfully appealed; she is protected because of her attempt to return.
|
Steve, I see what you are saying. It just seems that the wording is poorly written. Dave
|
Apparently, it should say "... she would be protected if obstructed while trying to return to the base"
|
Ok, the light finally came on in the old noggin. Got it. Dave
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17pm. |