The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
Question fed ?

As i said in my last post, I've been unable to work the last few years, so i'm trying to get back to speed. This question is giving me trouble. It's a t/f. "R1 is on 2nd base and R2 is on 1st base with no outs when B3 hits an infield fly. The umpire properly calls and infield fly. The ball falls untouched to the ground and strikes B3 who is running in fair territory about 20 feet from 1st base. This is a double play." Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
What code is this, and do they give the answer as it is a double-play, or is this just the statement you have to judge as T or F?

I think ASA has this as a case play, and it's just one out (the BR). Of course, if the ball hit a runner off the base, the runner would be out, too.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Or, if it looked like R1 or R2 was a possible out and the interference was judged deliberate? ?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Or, if it looked like R1 or R2 was a possible out and the interference was judged deliberate? ?

Yes, then definitely the runner closest to home out in ASA and Fed.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
Thumbs up

Yes its fed ball.This is the exact statement so they just want t/f as it reads.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Maybe I'm seeing something different than all of you, but it seems pretty straight forward, and "true" to me. Batter is out on the infield fly, and R2 is out on interference with a batted ball which has not passed (assumably) an infielder (F4) with an opportunity to make a play on that batted ball (remember, if R2 is about 20 feet from 1B, than one should be able to assume a high school age infielder can field that ball after it has hung in the air long enough to be judged an infield fly). R2 has no protection from interfering with an infield fly, caught or not; and apparently did. Two outs.

The ASA case play exception relates to a runner who stays on the base; that runner cannot be required to leave the base to put herself in jeopardy, when the fielder doesn't need to make play on the IFF; batter is already out. In this play, R2 has put herself in jeopardy by running; and cannot thenm interfere with the fielder's opportunity to get the 2nd out.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1