The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Heres one..happened Sunday (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/29362-heres-one-happened-sunday.html)

MidMadness Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:52am

Heres one..happened Sunday
 
Nobody on base...2 strikes....girl swings at 3rd strike...misses....ball pops out of catchers girl and bat hits ball on the backswing...ball rolls up the first base line fair....What do you have???

AtlUmpSteve Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness
Nobody on base...2 strikes....girl swings at 3rd strike...misses....ball pops out of catchers girl and bat hits ball on the backswing...ball rolls up the first base line fair....What do you have???

A dropped third strike. A ball missed then hit on the backswing is not legally batted. A ball not legally batted is neither fair nor foul.

If the hitting was unintentional, and did not interfere with the ability of the defense to make the play, we have a live ball, batter-runner must be put out. If the hitting was judged intentional, or the hitting interfered with the ability of the defense to make the play, it is interference, and the batter is out.

Skahtboi Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
A dropped third strike. A ball missed then hit on the backswing is not legally batted. A ball not legally batted is neither fair nor foul.

If the hitting was unintentional, and did not interfere with the ability of the defense to make the play, we have a live ball, batter-runner must be put out. If the hitting was judged intentional, or the hitting interfered with the ability of the defense to make the play, it is interference, and the batter is out.

Steve pretty much covered all bases on this one.

SRW Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MidMadness
...ball pops out of catchers girl...

How does that happen?;)

CecilOne Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Steve pretty much covered all bases on this one.

How can you say that when he never mentioned 2nd? ;) :D :rolleyes: :p

Skahtboi Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
How does that happen?;)

Trust me, you really don't want to know. :p

AlabamaBlue Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidMadness
...ball pops out of catchers girl...

How does that happen?;)

I saw it in Thailand once...

DaveASA/FED Thu Nov 09, 2006 02:31pm

Quote:

I saw it in Thailand once...
That's just wrong.....Funny, but WRONG:p

wadeintothem Thu Nov 09, 2006 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlabamaBlue
I saw it in Thailand once...

lol

reply of the year.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Nov 09, 2006 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
A dropped third strike. A ball missed then hit on the backswing is not legally batted. A ball not legally batted is neither fair nor foul.

If the hitting was unintentional, and did not interfere with the ability of the defense to make the play, we have a live ball, batter-runner must be put out. If the hitting was judged intentional, or the hitting interfered with the ability of the defense to make the play, it is interference, and the batter is out.

Speaking ASA:

8.2.F. Batter runner is out "When the batter-runner interferes with:
6. (Fast Pitch) interferes with a dropped third strike."

No intention necessary. I proposed to change this rule last year to cover accidental interference, but it failed.

In this play, the ball is dead and the BR declared out.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Nov 09, 2006 09:02pm

Yeah, I know that's what it says. In survival mechanics, if the defense still has a play, better to let them make it. Remember, in the OP, there were no other runners, and with the ball "fair", I am visualizing a case where hopefully no call should need to be made.

I'm just saying.

CecilOne Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA:

8.2.F. Batter runner is out "When the batter-runner interferes with:
6. (Fast Pitch) interferes with a dropped third strike."

No intention necessary. I proposed to change this rule last year to cover accidental interference, but it failed.

In this play, the ball is dead and the BR declared out.

Of course, "intentional" is now out of all interference criteria; if I understand the changes correctly.
Ignoring that, why would you treat interference with a D3K differently than with a batted ball?
And why does that rule say dropped 3K and not uncaught 3K?

wadeintothem Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Yeah, I know that's what it says. In survival mechanics, if the defense still has a play, better to let them make it. Remember, in the OP, there were no other runners, and with the ball "fair", I am visualizing a case where hopefully no call should need to be made.

I'm just saying.

???
I'm probably misunderstanding you..

but...

whatchu talkin bout willis???

wadeintothem Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Of course, "intentional" is now out of all interference criteria; if I understand the changes correctly.
Ignoring that, why would you treat interference with a D3K differently than with a batted ball?
And why does that rule say dropped 3K and not uncaught 3K?


I like it.

If they removed Dropped 3 K:

when we said on this board "D3K" there would be the anal people that would say "wah wah wah rules dont say D3K"; when everyone knows what it means.

Dakota Fri Nov 10, 2006 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem
...when everyone knows what it means.

Actually, that is the problem: not everyone does. ASA does use the "informal" title for things a few places in their rule book (e.g. ground rule double, dropped third strike). Not denying the existence of the overly anal, but every year there are a seemingly endless supply of people who need to have it explained to them why a pitch the catcher caught on the first bounce is "dropped." :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1