The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2006, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ran.D
Their argument "only the obstructed runner is awarded a base, coach should have brought R1 to third."

So, "affected by the obstruction" seems to be a judgement call??
Not at all - it is a rule. And you need to ask your partner and the other crew to read ASA 8-5.B.4 which contains the following sentence:

"the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction, will always be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there been no obstruction."

WMB

Last edited by WestMichBlue; Thu Sep 07, 2006 at 10:45am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction Call largeone59 Baseball 6 Sun May 08, 2005 03:25pm
Would you call obstruction? WestMichBlue Softball 29 Sun Apr 17, 2005 05:01am
obstruction call Tap Softball 8 Mon May 05, 2003 09:24am
Obstruction Call oppool Softball 12 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:37pm
Obstruction, who's call? Robert G Baseball 6 Tue May 01, 2001 12:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1