The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Safety base, muffed batted ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27572-safety-base-muffed-batted-ball.html)

Dakota Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:31pm

Safety base, muffed batted ball
 
ASA rules.

Sharp hit down the first base line in fair territory. F3 attempts to field it, touches it in fair territory just ahead of 1B, but slightly muffs the ball, gaining control in foul territory, again just in front of the base. F3 touches the orange bag before the runner touches the white bag.

Out?

Does 8-3-M-4 fit this scenario?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 26, 2006 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
ASA rules.

Sharp hit down the first base line in fair territory. F3 attempts to field it, touches it in fair territory just ahead of 1B, but slightly muffs the ball, gaining control in foul territory, again just in front of the base. F3 touches the orange bag before the runner touches the white bag.

Out?

Does 8-3-M-4 fit this scenario?

HTBT, but if coming from foul territory, the defense can use the orange base.

Dakota Wed Jul 26, 2006 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
HTBT, but if coming from foul territory, the defense can use the orange base.

F3 was moving into foul territory to gain control of the ball, and after gloving the ball, touched the orange bag while continuing to move away from fair territory.

IOW, she was not yet coming back, but still moving more into foul territory, just jabbed at the orange bag with her foot after controlling the ball.

CecilOne Wed Jul 26, 2006 01:20pm

If the fielder was in foul territory ("F3 was moving into foul territory to gain control of the ball") when getting control, I would say the "foul side" exception applies. If the fielder was in fair and just the ball was in foul, then probably not.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jul 26, 2006 03:48pm

Couldn't this be cleared up by extending 8.2.M-4 to say "On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or the colored portion?" (Italicized text is my addition - exactly the same as in 8.2.M-5.) It seems as though 8.2.M-4 is incomplete. Or am I missing something....again?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1