The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   scoring a run on a obstruction call (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27364-scoring-run-obstruction-call.html)

umpharp Sun Jul 09, 2006 05:26pm

scoring a run on a obstruction call
 
This will probably be a pretty easy one to answer, and I'm pretty sure I got it right, but want to make sure.....
here is the play......ASA JO 12U game
R1 on 2B, 2 outs. B1 hits a base hit to right center. R1 is obstructed as she rounds third. B1 is thrown out at second before R1 crosses the plate. Can we score the run if we beleive that the runner would have scored before the out had she not been obstructed?

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 09, 2006 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpharp
This will probably be a pretty easy one to answer, and I'm pretty sure I got it right, but want to make sure.....
here is the play......ASA JO 12U game
R1 on 2B, 2 outs. B1 hits a base hit to right center. R1 is obstructed as she rounds third. B1 is thrown out at second before R1 crosses the plate. Can we score the run if we beleive that the runner would have scored before the out had she not been obstructed?


Yesssssssssssss

DaveASA/FED Mon Jul 10, 2006 09:05am

That is interesting, I understand it is a timing play since the B/R is out going into 2nd. But I guess I had never thought of awarding the OBS'd runner home cause they would have made it without the OBS, based on my belief of timing. I thought the only time we enforced OBS was if the OBS'd runner was played upon and ruled out. What am I missing? Just trying to understand, thanks.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 10, 2006 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
That is interesting, I understand it is a timing play since the B/R is out going into 2nd. But I guess I had never thought of awarding the OBS'd runner home cause they would have made it without the OBS, based on my belief of timing. I thought the only time we enforced OBS was if the OBS'd runner was played upon and ruled out. What am I missing? Just trying to understand, thanks.


We rule on an OBS runner anytime that runner did not attain the base which, in the umpire's judgment, s/he would have reached had the OBS not occured.

SRW Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpharp
This will probably be a pretty easy one to answer, and I'm pretty sure I got it right, but want to make sure.....
here is the play......ASA JO 12U game
R1 on 2B, 2 outs. B1 hits a base hit to right center. R1 is obstructed as she rounds third. B1 is thrown out at second before R1 crosses the plate. Can we score the run if we beleive that the runner would have scored before the out had she not been obstructed?

This is an extremely familiar and similiar play that happened in Seattle this weekend... where are you from, Umpharp?

Dakota Mon Jul 10, 2006 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
...I thought the only time we enforced OBS was if the OBS'd runner was played upon and ruled out. ....

This is a VERY common misunderstanding of the OBS rule. For whatever reason, they think 8-5-B-2 (ASA) is the only time bases are awarded. Check out the EFFECT part of 8-5-B-4. Note the word "always".

umpharp Mon Jul 10, 2006 07:33pm

nope, I'm from Michigan...
and I did award the runner home on the play. The coach came out and discussed the play but never objected to the call.

bkbjones Thu Jul 13, 2006 03:25pm

Had it happen last fall. The offending coach came out and told me it was a bullspit call and I was a bullspit umpire. While many would agree with the second (including regular posters and viewers of this board) she won the big prize, including a mechanically-correct one-way ticket to the parking lot. Too bad for her, because her team came back in the bottom of the inning to win the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1