![]() |
Quote:
Hey, can we talk about the black being part of the plate next?:rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
A Tie DOES go to the runner......If the ball doesnt beat him/her to the bag...what do you have? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
So, we're back to the general list of myths, including that "tie goes to the runner" is not a myth.
Any ideas on how to kill them off? How about that memory eraser in "Men In Black"? Maybe we could find one for "Men In Blue". |
In ASA, Rule 8-7-C
When, On a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball, touches the ball to the base or tags the runner [B]before[B] the runner reaches base. Mike, is of course, right. Fozzie |
Quote:
|
Getting back to the original post
1)How do you enforce the "Crash Rule" if the defensive player doesn't have possesion of the ball.:( The defense is guilty of Obstruction . Point 2 the league rule regarding sliding should also state that the play should end after the umpire calls the out otherwise you are penalizing the defense if the ball should get away from the fielder. |
Quote:
Since the League Rule doesn't include any statement regarding said fielder having possession of the ball, by what is listed alone, I still have a "crash" out, which takes precedence over OBR (ASA POE 14-D, minus the fielder having possession of the ball). This would, of course, be nice to have cleared up by the person that originally wrote and/or implemented said League Rules prior to this happening - and maybe, just to be crazy, actually include this in the printed League Rules. Quote:
|
Cecil, because local leagues insist on mangling the current, perfectly working, interference and obstruction rules, adding something like the one above.
Man, what would we do if ASA or FED rules had rules that said certain events "can result in an out". Talk about vague! I think the answer to the main question presented in the OP is that on a play like this, IF you have interference (whether by ASA rule or local rule), play should cease and runners should be placed. So if the umpire is ruling an out on this play (whether by ASA rule, which should have covered this sitch, or by the vaguely reworded local rule), then the umpire should be ceasing play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you have obstruction, with USC on the runner immediately following (and the runner has still not touched home plate), penalized by ejection, wouldn't it go something like this?: 1. OBR (delayed dead ball) 2. USC (dead ball) - (and runner is out?) 3. Runner is ejected 4. No run scored I'm not going to let an ejected (and/or out) player perform any baserunning, so how would the run score, if they committed USC prior to touching home plate? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm. |