The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Ejection, then the fun began! Questions follow (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27116-ejection-then-fun-began-questions-follow.html)

TwoBits Tue Jun 20, 2006 08:41am

Ejection, then the fun began! Questions follow
 
Strict OBR. One runner on, two outs. Batter is ejected for arguing a strike call that ran the count to 0-2. Of course the team manager comes out to "discuss" the situation with the plate umpire (which was not me, in case you were wondering :) ). Afterwards, the manager reports a substitute for the ejected player to continue the at-bat. Player does not promptly take his position in the batter's box. After the plate umpire tells the batter 3 times to take his position in the box with the batter still not doing so (he has taken practice swings, switched bats, AND traded helmets), umpire calls for a pitch to be thrown which appeared reasonably close to the strike zone and calls strike three, inning over.

Now the question: When the umpire called for the pitch to be thrown, the pitcher, who was standing behind the rubber, just stepped up on the rubber and threw the ball into the catcher without pause, taking a sign, or simulating taking a sign.

Question #1: With runners on base, should this be called a balk?

Question #2: If yes to question #1, given the circumstances, would you call it?

LMan Tue Jun 20, 2006 09:00am

JMO, but since in other codes the pitch does not even have to be thrown on a directed strike (I suppose softball has to be different :D), I as PU would not call a balk on a pitch I ordered thrown for a strike.

In fact, Id just say 'strike!'.

Reads like the new batter is trying to show up the PU on orders of his coach.

Mountaineer Tue Jun 20, 2006 09:07am

First of all, no such thing as a balk in softball. Could be an IP, but not in my game. If I've told the pitcher to pitch - it's for the expressed purpose of calling a strike. At that point, I'm implimenting my F-150 strike zone. If they can throw it in the bed of an F-150, it's a strike!

tcblue13 Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Strict OBR.

Are there SB leagues that play OBR

TwoBits Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
Are there SB leagues that play OBR

No, I'm just an idiot who confused my baseball, softball message boards this morning. Moderator, feel free to delete.

mcrowder Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:34pm

Moderators don't generally delete things unless they become offensive ... but you can delete it yourself.

To answer your question though, in any rulecode of either ball-and-stick game, this is not a balk or illegal pitch - it's a strike.

bobbrix Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:42pm

No pitch required in our book (Canada) ... we can call the strike if time's up.

I'd avoid having them throw a pitch ... given the circumstances, if they threw an IP, all heck (or worse!!) could break loose.

Bluefoot Wed Jun 21, 2006 07:15am

Isn't there an ASA rule that once the umpire tells the batter to get in the batter's box, that the batter has 10 seconds to do so? If not, the umpire shall call a strike, without a pitch needing to be thrown?

Dakota Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bluefoot
Isn't there an ASA rule that once the umpire tells the batter to get in the batter's box, that the batter has 10 seconds to do so? If not, the umpire shall call a strike, without a pitch needing to be thrown?

Change "shall" to "may" and you are right. The ASA book reminds umpires that the reason for the rule is delay of the game. The other option given to the umpire is a warning.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 23, 2006 07:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Change "shall" to "may" and you are right. The ASA book reminds umpires that the reason for the rule is delay of the game. The other option given to the umpire is a warning.

ASA Rule 7.3.B

The batter must take the batter's position within 10 seconds after being directed to do so by the umpire.
EFFECT: The umpire WILL call a strike. No pitch has to be thrown and the ball is dead.

Tom, I believe you are thinking of the JO rule that the batter must keep one foot in the batter's box once the at-bat begins unless under certain circumstances.

Dakota Fri Jun 23, 2006 08:15am

You're right. That was what I was thinking of.

CecilOne Fri Jun 23, 2006 09:39am

As long as we are all thinking !:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1