The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Catch? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27092-catch.html)

fastpitch Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:46pm

Catch?
 
I witnessed an 8U player attempt to catch a popup, the ball goes through her glove and ends up between her elbows. Umpire signals out. Is this a legal catch? From what I've read after searching other posts it sounds like it is not.

mo99 Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:53pm

What happened next? Did she gain control of the ball before it hit the ground or did she drop it?:confused:

Jeff
NFHS Umpire
NCAA Umpire
ASA Umpire

Steve M Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fastpitch
I witnessed an 8U player attempt to catch a popup, the ball goes through her glove and ends up between her elbows. Umpire signals out. Is this a legal catch? From what I've read after searching other posts it sounds like it is not.

Sp far, I don't have a catch. As soon as this fielder or another reach in and grab the ball, I have a catch - because it's controlled & has a voluntary release. Then again, in 8&U, maybe you're getting an out wherever you can.

fastpitch Sun Jun 18, 2006 09:01pm

Play is right at 2B. Gets worse, umpire signals out while ball between elbows, she drops it, runner steps off base, is tagged, in a very close play, umpire signals out again. I hope I don't make the same mistake.

NDblue Sun Jun 18, 2006 09:12pm

Did she voluntarily drop it or did it come loose because it wasn't controlled? If she has control of it between her elbows, I have an out.:)

outathm Sun Jun 18, 2006 09:16pm

Having worked 8u I agree with what Steve said. if you cna get an out getit!
Of course our 8U games are usually endind to watch the moms go WWE in the stands. :)

Steve M Mon Jun 19, 2006 03:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDblue
Did she voluntarily drop it or did it come loose because it wasn't controlled? If she has control of it between her elbows, I have an out.:)

Having the ball pinned between a couple of body parts - isn't that what we've got with the ball between the elbows - can't be controlled. It's controlled when it's grabbed with a hand or glove.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 19, 2006 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fastpitch
I witnessed an 8U player attempt to catch a popup, the ball goes through her glove and ends up between her elbows. Umpire signals out. Is this a legal catch? From what I've read after searching other posts it sounds like it is not.

Speaking ASA

It is not a catch until firmly held by a defender in the glove or hand prior to touching the ground or objest other then another defender.

A player cannot voluntarily release a ball never controlled.

NDblue Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M
Having the ball pinned between a couple of body parts - isn't that what we've got with the ball between the elbows - can't be controlled. It's controlled when it's grabbed with a hand or glove.

See the smiley face at the end of my post? I was being sarcastic but I guess the emotion was lost in cyberspace...

Steve M Tue Jun 20, 2006 03:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDblue
See the smiley face at the end of my post? I was being sarcastic but I guess the emotion was lost in cyberspace...

Tom,
Then I mis-read it. I know it's not the first time I've mis-read one and I suspect it won't be the last.

Mountaineer Tue Jun 20, 2006 07:26am

I've got a no-catch until the ball is obviously under the player's control.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1