The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Overthrow and awarding bases..... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26700-overthrow-awarding-bases.html)

dsimp8 Wed May 24, 2006 09:26am

Overthrow and awarding bases.....
 
ASA SP game........Runner on 1st. Line drive to the SS who catches it for an out. R1 takes off for 2B but,after seeing the catch, he turns to go back to 1B. Ball is overthrown into the dugout. Is it a two base award and if it is does he go to 3B or 2B? The reason for the last part is ,if it is a two base award and he is on his way BACK to 1B ,are his two bases 1B (since he is going back to try to re-occupy it) and 2B ?

Dakota Wed May 24, 2006 09:34am

The award is 2 bases from the runner's position at the time of the throw. Position, not direction. Direction makes no difference. 3B.

BuggBob Wed May 24, 2006 09:49am

ASA direction does not count, runner on third. USSSA Direction does count, runner on second.

Bugg

Dakota Wed May 24, 2006 10:00am

The OP specified ASA.

Andy Wed May 24, 2006 10:50am

Just remember that R1 is still responsible for tagging up at first before he takes his award to third base.

Skahtboi Wed May 24, 2006 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
USSSA Direction does count, runner on second.

Maybe in SP. Not in FP.

tcblue13 Wed May 24, 2006 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Maybe in SP. Not in FP.

What about Fed?

CecilOne Wed May 24, 2006 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
What about Fed?

Everywhere except red-shirt slowpitch.

tcblue13 Wed May 24, 2006 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Everywhere except red-shirt slowpitch.

I wasn't following the thread closely enough
I thought that the comment about FP was in regard to the runner having to tag up prior to receiving the award.
I thought that skahtboi was saying that you did not have to tag up before the award in ASA so I was asking about FED
I am thinking you have to tag up regardless because of the "all awarded bases must be touched" concept.
Sorry about the ramble and the question

CecilOne Wed May 24, 2006 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
I wasn't following the thread closely enough
I thought that the comment about FP was in regard to the runner having to tag up prior to receiving the award.
I thought that skahtboi was saying that you did not have to tag up before the award in ASA so I was asking about FED
I am thinking you have to tag up regardless because of the "all awarded bases must be touched" concept.
Sorry about the ramble and the question

The SP/FP/U3/others was about how the 2 base award is calculated. Apparently in U3 SP it's really 1 base.

AtlUmpSteve Wed May 24, 2006 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
The SP/FP/U3/others was about how the 2 base award is calculated. Apparently in U3 SP it's really 1 base.

USSSA perpetuates the old (and otherwise totally discredited) one plus one; the one the runner was going to plus one. If heading forward, two bases; if heading back, one base.

CecilOne Thu May 25, 2006 08:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
USSSA perpetuates the old (and otherwise totally discredited) one plus one; the one the runner was going to plus one. If heading forward, two bases; if heading back, one base.

Right, I should have said "one base if running in reverse". But then, I was being a little facetious and don't really care about U3.

I guess we have to compliment those umpires on always being able to see all the runners' direction while watching the ball in a one umpire system. :cool:

Skahtboi Thu May 25, 2006 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
USSSA perpetuates the old (and otherwise totally discredited) one plus one; the one the runner was going to plus one. If heading forward, two bases; if heading back, one base.

Again, may be true in SP, but not in FP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1