The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interesting Play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26385-interesting-play.html)

tzme415 Fri May 05, 2006 09:15am

Interesting Play
 
ASA SP Rec. Mens - 1 umpire

1 out R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, R3 on 1st - Batter hits soft liner between F1 and F6 - No way either one could have caught with ordinary effort, F1 barely gets glove on ball and drops it - here is where the fun begins - R1 runs home, R2 stays on 2nd, R3 runs toward 2nd, BR runs to 1st - F1 picks up ball and throws to 3rd getting force on R2, I am watching ball go to 3rd and F5 fumbling ball before finally getting control - R2 is still standing on 2nd, R1 has either touched on not touched 2nd (his team swears he did, but I didn't see while I was watching ball) and is heading back to 1st - BR is on 1st - Defense is confused, when they realize to throw it to 2nd - throw to F4 standing on 2nd just beats R1 as he slides in - I call R1 out - end of inning.

1) If R1 never touched 2nd is this the right call?

2) If R1 had touched 2nd, what is the call?

3) Any suggestions on positioning, so I could have maybe seen if R1 did or did not touch 2nd?

Thanks

IRISHMAFIA Fri May 05, 2006 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzme415
ASA SP Rec. Mens - 1 umpire

1 out R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, R3 on 1st - Batter hits soft liner between F1 and F6 - No way either one could have caught with ordinary effort, F1 barely gets glove on ball and drops it - here is where the fun begins - R1 runs home, R2 stays on 2nd, R3 runs toward 2nd, BR runs to 1st - F1 picks up ball and throws to 3rd getting force on R2, I am watching ball go to 3rd and F5 fumbling ball before finally getting control - R2 is still standing on 2nd, R1 has either touched on not touched 2nd (his team swears he did, but I didn't see while I was watching ball) and is heading back to 1st - BR is on 1st - Defense is confused, when they realize to throw it to 2nd - throw to F4 standing on 2nd just beats R1 as he slides in - I call R1 out - end of inning.

No, R1 crossed the plate. I guess you are referring to R3
Quote:


1) If R1 never touched 2nd is this the right call?

2) If R1 had touched 2nd, what is the call?

3) Any suggestions on positioning, so I could have maybe seen if R1 did or did not touch 2nd?

Thanks
R2 is out on the force at 3B. R3 is out on the force at 2B. Touching the base is irrelevant if R3 was returning to 1B.

No runs score.

CecilOne Fri May 05, 2006 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzme415
ASA SP Rec. Mens - 1 umpire

1 out R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, R3 on 1st - Batter hits soft liner between F1 and F6 - No way either one could have caught with ordinary effort, F1 barely gets glove on ball and drops it - here is where the fun begins - R1 runs home, R2 stays on 2nd, R3 runs toward 2nd, BR runs to 1st - F1 picks up ball and throws to 3rd getting force on R2, I am watching ball go to 3rd and F5 fumbling ball before finally getting control - R2 is still standing on 2nd, R3 has either touched on not touched 2nd (his team swears he did, but I didn't see while I was watching ball) and is heading back to 1st - BR is on 1st - Defense is confused, when they realize to throw it to 2nd - throw to F4 standing on 2nd just beats R3 as he slides in - I call R1 out - end of inning.

1) If R3 never touched 2nd is this the right call?

2) If R3 had touched 2nd, what is the call?

3) Any suggestions on positioning, so I could have maybe seen if R3 did or did not touch 2nd?

Thanks

2) Force is reinstated even if R3 touched 2nd.
3) You could try bi-locating, ;) or just get an angle facing CF and looking back and forth. Often, we can judge the timing of a runner arriving at base and look quickly just to verify contact.

tzme415 Fri May 05, 2006 10:01am

Yes - I meant R3, I got R1 and R3 switched.

mcrowder Fri May 05, 2006 10:15am

No need to worry about whether he touched or not. If he headed back, the force is back on at 2nd. You ruled right.

tcblue13 Fri May 05, 2006 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No runs score.

This is the biggie since the force was reinstated.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1