![]() |
who's responsibility is it?
Situation:
two outs, R1 on third, R2 on Second. B1 hits ball to shortstop. As line drive approaches SS she moves left to field ball but suddenly flinches because the runner (R2) is there. As plate umpire I call runner out because I feel SS could have easily fielded the ball. Base umpire is upset because she feels that is her call. Any feedback? |
Either umpire can call obstruction or interference, but in this situation maybe the base umpire felt you were calling in their area. Sometimes the umpire doesn't see these things and sometimes they have passed on them. It's a fine line between the two sometimes. Bottom line is get the call right, and put your pride on the shelf.
|
Guess I'd wonder what the level is. A high school varsity player had better be able to make the play. So, varsity or higher, I've probably got no call - based on what you described.
As to who's call that is - primary is BU. Call in your area, watch the other area(s). Give your partner the chance to make the call. If partner has a good look, I'm probably going to trust my partner's judgement. If partner does not have a good look, make the call. |
Steve,
This was a Federation Varsity Game. Can you tell me where in the book or umpires manual where it says that an area of the field is a base umpires and where the areas of the field belong to the plate umpire? |
As to who's call that is - primary is BU. Call in your area, watch the other area(s). Give your partner the chance to make the call. If partner has a good look, I'm probably going to trust my partner's judgement. If partner does not have a good look, make the call.[/QUOTE]
I'm sorry but I disagree with this. The resposibility for a line drive in the infield belongs to the PU. The BU, stationed in the C position is behind the SS and in no position to call catch/no catch on a line drive. I do agree, however, that either umpire can make the interference call here. |
Quote:
|
That was my question
What did the runner do to inerfere? I had a collision yesterday when R2 on 2B crashed into F6 fielding a ground ball. DB, Out Coach: Blue, that runner has the same right to that spot on the field as the fielder Is that another one of those "hands are a part of the bat" myths? |
Quote:
Irish, In my opinion and from my angle I felt the runner did not make an adaquate attempt to avoid the fielder and entered the fielders area. |
Read the words of this rule againm blu. No where is the adequacy of the runner's attempt to avoid mentioned.
|
Quote:
|
Just because a fielder sees a runner out of the corner of their eye or runs by them is not interference. More lack of concentration on the fielder.
|
No Contact? No Verbal Distraction? Just being "in the area" and you call interference????
I'd be upset if I were your partner too! But not simply because you made my call! Maybe the fielder "flinched" because she got a chill, or a fly landed on her? Come ON! Let'm Play! The game is not about SEEING the umpire make calls! The best called game is one that you are never noticed! |
As with most interference scenarios, this is a HTBT to determine whether or not we have interference.
I read the original post as F6 moving to field the ball and flinching or stopping due to what she believes is an imminent collision with the runner! That's interference in my book. It is the runners responsibility to avoid the fielder. Yes, its a judgement call and none of us (except the OP) were there. We can only go off of the picture we form in our mind from the description provided. As far as whose call it is - Steve M gave a good guideline. |
Quote:
No where in the rule book does it say contact or verbal distraction must happen to constitute interference. I percieved that the fielder thought a collision was going to take place based on the location of the runner. |
Quote:
The runner was doing what the runner was supposed to do, and did not prevent a play. The fielder's reaction to what may or may not have happened is what prevented a play. I grant you that actual contact is not always required for an interference call. But I do think you are stretching the words of the rule WAY WAY WAY too far here. |
Only Steve M addressed the question.
I do agree with him, that the primary for a runner in that area is the BU. And as he said, "If partner does not have a good look, make the call." |
Quote:
And you're opinion of my "stretching the words of the rule" are relavent because? Stretching, or over-interpreting, are somewhat part of the duties of an umpire. Please don't respond if you can't give me a clean focused answer not attempting to show me up. Cecil is correct, only Stephen answered the question I posted. At no time did I ask for a interpretation of the interference rule. I asked about responsibilities and after speaking to some very knowledgable umpires here I hsve my answer. No umpire has duties over another umpire on the field. Each position (PU and BU) have different primary responsibilities and each must make their decisions on their personal judgment of the situation and they must act accordingly. If either umpire feels a player has been put at a disadvantage he/she must act on that feeling whether their partner agrees or disagrees. |
Quote:
The rules proscribe certain actions of players with respect to each other in the interference and obstruction rules. Our <u>feelings</u> on whether a player has a <u>disadvantage</u>, whether or not it was caused by reaction to another player, should have no bearing on our calls. Perhaps you misspoke, or did not exactly mean this the way I am reading it, but taking you at your written words, I disagree. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Please note that I said SEE interference. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In a game a couple of years ago, a similar play happened, obviously INT, but the relatively new BU signalled OBS as the PU called "dead ball", then INT. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
By all means - if you SEE an ACTUAL infraction of OBS or INT - call it, even if it is closer to your partner. But don't speculate or interpolate what future actions MIGHT happen. The sitch described sounds more like DMF than INT. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If I am absolutely sure that I've just seen interference, yup, call it. But, before I call interference, I'm looking to see what my partner is doing. If my partner has a good look at this same play - right position and can see what needs to be seen and is looking at it - my split second or so delay is going to let my partner call it. And if my partner is looking right at it, chances are real good my partner is going to give a "safe" signal which sez "Yes, I saw that and it's nothing." My split second delay is going to avoid us having conflicting calls AND is allowing my partner to keep/have/whatever primary responsibility where my partner has primary responsibility. |
Quote:
A decent example is last year in OKC when there was runners at the corner an a pitcher from a GA team was rolling. I'm U3 and R2 was returning to 1B after a pitch. The pitcher got the ball, stepped on the PP and started the pitch. Even though U2 is responsible for R2, I'm looking right through the P and immediately killed the ball. U2 (WY umpire) was right behind me in the call. All the calls we are discussing are the type which need to be immediate and decisive. I'm not saying that Steve is wrong in what he does, I just don't agree with it. I also don't agree with the NCAA's mechanic of the "safe" signal as it may conflict with what his/her partner observed and now, regardless of the circumstance, cannot be called without an unavoidable issue that will not reflect well on the crew. |
If there is confusion , impedence or the fielder interferes then we have interference .
This is always judgement and most cases HTBT so I wont say yes or know . I will say that either Ump can call it and often the plate Ump in this situation can see it better . As to your Bu , I think they have a problem if they consider this is my area and this is yours . Both of you are a team , you rely on each other . |
Quote:
"flinches?" OOO :rolleyes: |
Quote:
I'm sorry but I disagree with this. The resposibility for a line drive in the infield belongs to the PU. The BU, stationed in the C position is behind the SS and in no position to call catch/no catch on a line drive. I do agree, however, that either umpire can make the interference call here.[/QUOTE] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38am. |