![]() |
Define Jeopardy
ASA Rule 10, Section 6 C states, “The plate umpire may rectify any situation in which the reversal of an umpire’s decision or a delayed call by an umpire places a batter-runner, a runner or defensive team in jeopardy. (This correction is not possible after one legal or illegal pitch has been thrown, or after the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory on their way to the bench or dugout area, or after the last play of the game, the umpires have left the field of play.)
How do you define "jeopardy"? Every ruling by an umpire helps either the offense or the defense. So, "jeopardy" must mean something else. Can you provide several plays and interps that give valid application of 10.6.C? |
http://www.sonypictures.com/tv/shows...wHeader_03.jpg
It is easier to explain from the perspective of the offense. If the umpire's changed or delayed call resulted in a runner or BR being put out on the original call, when they would not have been put out (or would have presumably reacted differently) if the correct call had been made at the time, then the offense has ben put in jeopardy by the umpire's changed or late call. An example would be a delayed IF call. Umpire does not call IF when it should be called. Ball is dropped. Runners believe the force is in effect and attempt to advance and are put out. Sure, it is true that the IF is a live ball, and that the runners COULD have done the same thing even if the IF had been called, but the judgment of the umpire (c)(w)ould be that the runners were placed in jeopardy be the delay since they then assumed they were forced to advance. |
And I thought this forum was America's favorite quiz show. :D
|
How about ruling a catch on a fly ball, then changing it based on a partner's better view. That could cause the defense to play the wrong base, or a runner not to advance, etc.
|
Another example. R1 on 2nd, R2 on first. Grounder to F3 who steps on bag and fires to third. BU mistakenly calls R1 out on force play. R1 started to return to 2nd, but after the OUT call, stops running and a few seconds later is tagged while walking to her dugout.
The mistaken call of OUT removed her opportunity to try to return to 2nd and put her in jeopardy. Upon realizing the mistaken call, R1 should be put back on 2nd (R2 to 1st if necessary) |
NFHS is different in that the rule only applies to reversed calls, not delayed calls. In Dakota's example, the umpire could not rectify the situation in NFHS.
The rule also does not apply in the case of an infield fly that is called such in error. Casebook play 10.2.3 Situation D says both teams are responsible to know when conditions exist for an infield fly. |
Quote:
In my example, the players cannot assume IF will eventually be called, since even if the conditions exist, the actual call is still umpire judgment. In your example, the players should know the game situation, and know that the IFR is not in force (to which I say, "sure, they should... most coaches don't even know...") :rolleyes: |
I posted a play I had earlier this season that would fit.
NCAA game, two outs, R1 on first, I am BU. R1 attempts to steal second, throw to F6 covering, F6 tags R1 on the infield side as she is sliding, I call the out. What I did not see is that F6 dropped the ball during the tag, but was able to scoop it back up and appear to complete the tag. R1's body completely blocked my view of the dropped ball. R1 jumps up and continues to third as the defense runs off the field. The offensive coach comes to me and asks me to check with my partner, she saw F6 drop the ball. I talk to my partner and he confirms the dropped ball. I reverse the call and declare R1 safe at second. However, I do not allow her to stay on third base. Had I seen the dropped ball and made the correct call in the first place, R1 would have stopped at second. If I had allowed R1 to stay at third, it would have placed the defensive team in jeopardy as they left the field based on my call and did not attempt to play on the runner going to third. It would have also allowed the offense an extra base that they most likely would not have earned as a result of that play. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19pm. |