The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   retired runner (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/26085-retired-runner.html)

CecilOne Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Notice that just before the section that you refer to above, the NCAA rulebook also includes the following note:

If both players actions are appropriate to the situation and contact could not be avoided, it is inadvertant contact and neither interference nor obstruction.

To me, this places your question firmly in the realm of "judgement." Do you feel that the runner had time to "evaporate," as you put it? If so, then you would rule INT. If the runner, again in your judgement, did nothing intentional to interfere and had no time to alter her course, then your ruling would be inadvertant contact, which of course, has no penalty.

Does this help at all?

Yes, that does help and is pertinent to the OP.

Skahtboi Tue Apr 25, 2006 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Yes, that does help and is pertinent to the OP.

Then sorry that I didn't read this post sooner! :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1