The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Asa 8-1-g (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25958-asa-8-1-g.html)

SRW Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:02am

Asa 8-1-g
 
Question for the ASA gurus...

Quote:

8-1-G: (Fast Pitch) If the batter is hit anywhere, including the hands, while swinging at a pitch: EFFECT: The ball is dead and a strike called. If it is strike three, the batter is out.
Why is this rule located in the section entitled The Batter Becomes a Batter-Runner? (8-1) Shouldn't it be under A Strike Is Called By The Umpire (7-4)?

Is there ever a case where 8-1-G would occur and the batter would become a batter-runner?

Dakota Thu Apr 06, 2006 10:33am

It is no doubt there because the rule immediately before is talking about HBP. This is a subcategory of HBP, but is, in effect, an exception to the "normal" HBP. It is also mentioned in rule 7-4, too, isn't it? (At least, it used to be... I only have the 2005 book with me now. It was 7-4-G in 2005.)

CecilOne Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:42am

Mislocation of rules, notes, effects, cases, etc. is common in rule books; evn one published by our education-based oganization. Sometimes it is because it is duplicated as above, or because the rule was a change to something that belonged there; but usually it's just carelessness. :rolleyes:

mcrowder Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:07pm

It is in the right place, logically, but should probably be a note or comment or exception to the previous rule, not its own separately numbered point.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1