![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
By the way, did anyone ask the catcher why she didn't just throw it to the pitcher covering home?
I agree with Mike. Barring intent here, this is just a dumb-move-catcher. |
I have not done FED FP in several years. I am just getting back into FP (ASA) this year. There was something in the FED case book about running to 1B when the D3K rules was not into effect. The umpire was to "forcefully announce" the batter was out, ball remains alive. Has this rule been changed?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Sorry, guys, it was a joke... some mythical goof asking. The answer was obvious. I guess the joke wasn't.
|
OK - Gotcha.
|
Me too. :D :D :D Guess I was rushing too much that day.
|
Quote:
|
Steve,
wrt "That rule is telling you that running in a situation when the third strike rule does not entitle the BR to run is not interference. It (that line) was added about 5 or 6 years ago for exactly that reason. The explanation and examples given that year was exactly that; it is not in our purview to judge if the runner runs because she mistakes the situation, or if it is intentional." Do you have an available reference, copy of a ruling, or anything in writing that we can use to document this for those who disagree? BTW, at the moment, the rule book and lack of a case leaves me undecided about these situations. |
My personal collection of ASA rulebooks stops (starts) in 1999, the year I separated (and my ex decided what I no longer needed). If Mike or someone else with a historic collection of ASA rulebooks (WMB?) can go back before that, I believe that the one year of calling it a dead ball (to stop umpires from calling it interference) if the retired batter ran was about 1996 or 1997, then the rule was changed to the current live ball but cannot be interference the next year (1997 or 1998) with the written rationale for the change in the front of the ASA rulebook.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21pm. |