The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   OBS again, I know, but I searched (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25803-obs-again-i-know-but-i-searched.html)

MarkPSkins Tue Mar 28, 2006 02:50pm

OBS again, I know, but I searched
 
My apologies for another OBS thread, but I did search and could not find anything on either scenario.

Two different scenarios happened at an ASA 12u FP tournment in the same game just wonder what should be the call.

1st scenario.

Batter hits ball to F6 who throws to F3, throw is way off line, maybe 10 feet, F3 leaves the bag into the base path to catch the ball. B1 literally has to stop to avoid what could have been a nasty collision and is tagged. The FU calls her out. Small OBS argument ensues to no avail, batter out.

Is this right?

2 scenario.

Right handed Batter bunts the ball up the first base line, right on the line. The catcher calls off the the charging F3 and F3 stops and veers slightly into the path of the batter-runner causing her to side step enough to where she is beaten by the throw out by one step.

Again no OBS is called. Is this right?

umpiregal65 Tue Mar 28, 2006 02:59pm

obs
 
The way I read poe#36 in asa rules- both are obs. Check it.

Skahtboi Tue Mar 28, 2006 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarkPSkins
My apologies for another OBS thread, but I did search and could not find anything on either scenario.

Two different scenarios happened at an ASA 12u FP tournment in the same game just wonder what should be the call.

1st scenario.

Batter hits ball to F6 who throws to F3, throw is way off line, maybe 10 feet, F3 leaves the bag into the base path to catch the ball. B1 literally has to stop to avoid what could have been a nasty collision and is tagged. The FU calls her out. Small OBS argument ensues to no avail, batter out.

Is this right?

2 scenario.

Right handed Batter bunts the ball up the first base line, right on the line. The catcher calls off the the charging F3 and F3 stops and veers slightly into the path of the batter-runner causing her to side step enough to where she is beaten by the throw out by one step.

Again no OBS is called. Is this right?


From the information that you provide, I would probably have OBS in both cases.

dtref Tue Mar 28, 2006 07:22pm

also clarify please
 
as to the rulings if these situations had happened in NFHS somebody. I am very green, nervous and can use all the information possible.

JFA67 Tue Mar 28, 2006 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dtref
as to the rulings if these situations had happened in NFHS somebody. I am very green, nervous and can use all the information possible.

OBS again.

There are only subtle difference between ASA and NFHS, There is a post with a link to a differences document. Relax and have fun. Good to see you are on the fourm trying to better yourself.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1