The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Rule 8-5-B-4-b (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25687-asa-rule-8-5-b-4-b.html)

chuck chopper Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:29pm

ASA Rule 8-5-B-4-b
 
If I'm reading correctly this part of the rule is talking about the fielder while fielding a batted ball OBSTRUCTS the runner. I did not think it possible. Anytime a fielder is fielding a batted ball and she & the runner get entangled..I always thought the call would go to the fielder and be interference?

MrRabbit Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:38am

That is interesting...

Look at 8-7-j-1

The runner is out...

When the runner interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted bat..

Which we know is right.

Looks like the fingers got crossed again...

Rabbit

AtlUmpSteve Fri Mar 24, 2006 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper
If I'm reading correctly this part of the rule is talking about the fielder while fielding a batted ball OBSTRUCTS the runner. I did not think it possible. Anytime a fielder is fielding a batted ball and she & the runner get entangled..I always thought the call would go to the fielder and be interference?

A one letter typo, and one which proper grammar would correct; should read "is obstructed by a fielder who neither has the ball Nor is attempting to field a batted ball".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1