The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   2005 ASA Test #8 & #91 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25686-2005-asa-test-8-91-a.html)

rottiron01 Thu Mar 23, 2006 08:36pm

2005 ASA Test #8 & #91
 
8. R1 is on 1B with no outs, unreported substitute B2 is at bat with a 1-ball, 1 strike count. B2 grounds into a force out at 2B retiring R1. Before the next pitch, the defensive team notifies the umpire that B2 is unreported. The umpire rules R1 out and B2 out.

4.6B States that any outs that occur on the play should stand....therefore the answer should be true?

65. R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B, with no outs. B3 hits a high pop up between home and 1B, infield fly is called, when F3 loses sight of the ball in the sun. The ball lands on foul ground without being touched and rolls into fair territory halfway between home and 1B. F1 picks up the ball and throws to F4 covering 1B, who tags R2 while off the base. What’s the call?
A) Infield fly is declared, ball is live, R2 is out for being tagged off base.
B) Infield fly is declared ball is dead, runners return to the bases occupied.
C) Foul ball, runners return to base, batter continues to bat.
D) Do over is declared by umpire. Runners return, batter bats again.

Answer A - Is this a fair ball though since it came back in fair territory?

Thanks for any help.

Anyone kind enough to check my 2006 exam when I take the test.

rottiron01 Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:17am

I think I understand the second part of my question by looking at the definitions of a fair and foul ball, but the first question I am still not sure of.

If the appeal was made before the next pitch all outs that occur on the play stand...Right or Wrong?

JEL Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rottiron01
I think I understand the second part of my question by looking at the definitions of a fair and foul ball, but the first question I am still not sure of.

If the appeal was made before the next pitch all outs that occur on the play stand...Right or Wrong?


Yes all outs will stand, but the answer to the question is FALSE. Re-read ALL of 4-6-B to find why.

I will gladly scan your '06 test, and point you to the proper answers. E-mail the answers to me at [email protected]

rottiron01 Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:01am

Sorry it is 4.5.B
All outs will stand that were a result of the play, but the runner remains on base. He goes back to his starting position. Do I have this right?

Thanks JEL for offering to look over the 06 test!

I do not need to be certified. I am running a softball league in a prison and I do need to know the rules.

JEL Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rottiron01
Sorry it is 4.5.B
All outs will stand that were a result of the play, but the runner remains on base. He goes back to his starting position. Do I have this right?

Thanks JEL for offering to look over the 06 test!

I do not need to be certified. I am running a softball league in a prison and I do need to know the rules.

4-6-B is the rule you want, if you have the 2005 book. The 2006 book is 4-6-C-3.

Think again through the question.

There was one runner on base (R1) who was retired at second base. That will be the out that stands. Then, what to do with B2? He too is also called out after a protest by the offended team. If it stopped there, the answer to question 8 would be true. It is however FALSE because....something else happens to B2.

4-6-B, read the very last part, or 4-6-C-3 in the '06 book is clearer.

Because R1 was retired he can not go back to first because his out "stands". The only runners who could return would be those who were not put out on the initial play.

tcblue13 Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:58pm

R1 was already out on the play and therefore would not be ruled out because of the unreported batter.
Being unfamiliar w/ ASA I would like to know what else happens to B2

JEL Thu Mar 30, 2006 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcblue13
R1 was already out on the play and therefore would not be ruled out because of the unreported batter.
Being unfamiliar w/ ASA I would like to know what else happens to B2


B2 is called out AND disqualified by being unreported.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1