The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Sitch (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25548-sitch.html)

Skahtboi Thu Mar 16, 2006 03:01pm

The following happened in a HS game the other day. I will tell you what the umpires ruled and what I think they should have ruled after everyone has had the chance to chime in.

R1 on 1B. B2 hits a hot grounder to F5 who boots the ball, sending it in the direction of the open offensive dugout. (No wall or screening to protect the bench). Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an offensive player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?

JFA67 Thu Mar 16, 2006 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
R1 on 1B. B2 hits a hot grounder to F5 who boots the ball, sending it in the direction of the open offensive dugout. (No wall or screening to protect the bench). Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an offensive player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?
I can't tell from your post if the offensive player caused the ball to roll into the dugout or not. Or if she was in or out of the dogout.
If she did then the runners stop at first and second.
If the ball would have entered the dugout anyway, apply book rule. R1 at 3rd, B2 at second.


IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 16, 2006 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JFA67
Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
R1 on 1B. B2 hits a hot grounder to F5 who boots the ball, sending it in the direction of the open offensive dugout. (No wall or screening to protect the bench). Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an offensive player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?
I can't tell from your post if the offensive player caused the ball to roll into the dugout or not. Or if she was in or out of the dogout.
If she did then the runners stop at first and second.
If the ball would have entered the dugout anyway, apply book rule. R1 at 3rd, B2 at second.


I think Scott is looking for an INT discussion here. :)

Not sure if NFHS would be the same, but speaking ASA.

It could be INT if the offensive player's presence prevented the defense from making a play. If not INT, the ball would be a blocked ball which kills the play and the runners would return to the base last touched at the time the ball became dead.

mcrowder Thu Mar 16, 2006 04:58pm

I think I'm with Mike here. In almost any case like the one described, I don't see a play being interfered with. Forget what happens after the ball contacts the offensive player - it's dead already. Kill it and place runners, rounding down as one of my guys would say.

CecilOne Thu Mar 16, 2006 07:23pm

I agree, but sounds too simple without a discussion about intent. It would still be dead, runners going nowhere, but what about UC?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 16, 2006 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
I agree, but sounds too simple without a discussion about intent. It would still be dead, runners going nowhere, but what about UC?
Intent to do what?

If the umpire determines the player deprived the defense from a possible out, then it's interference whether there is intent or not.

If there is no possible play, then there is no INT regardless of intent.

Remember, a possible play by the defense is still umpire judgment.

I don't believe there is anything that has been noted here that would indicate an USC ruling.

CecilOne Thu Mar 16, 2006 08:17pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Intent to do what?

If the umpire determines the player deprived the defense from a possible out, then it's interference whether there is intent or not.

If there is no possible play, then there is no INT regardless of intent.

Remember, a possible play by the defense is still umpire judgment.

I don't believe there is anything that has been noted here that would indicate an USC ruling.
Just trying to anticipate where Scott is going with this.
If the contact with the player was intentionally defelecting into DBT whne there was a possible play, would that be UC?

JFA67 Thu Mar 16, 2006 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JFA67
Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
R1 on 1B. B2 hits a hot grounder to F5 who boots the ball, sending it in the direction of the open offensive dugout. (No wall or screening to protect the bench). Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an offensive player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?
I can't tell from your post if the offensive player caused the ball to roll into the dugout or not. Or if she was in or out of the dugout.
If she did then the runners stop at first and second.
If the ball would have entered the dugout anyway, apply book rule. R1 at 3rd, B2 at second.


I was thinking about NFHS rule 8-4-3i and if the ball actually would have made it into the dugout without contacting the O player. 2 bases from the time of the pitch p65-66 of the 2006 NFHS rule book. I can imagine a player not paying attention and getting hit as the ball enters the dugout.
I was going from that piont of view. IMO the umpires should have kept the players and coaches not involved in the game off the field. Preventative officiating.


Steve M Thu Mar 16, 2006 08:54pm

IF there's no play that might have been made by the defense
AND IF the offensive person was in live ball territory - I've got a blocked ball. The book tells me what to do with that. If there was a defensive play to be made, I've got interference. And - unrelated to the question - if that offensive person is a player, in live ball territory, I probably have a helmet violation and some other stuff to do.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Just trying to anticipate where Scott is going with this.
If the contact with the player was intentionally defelecting into DBT whne there was a possible play, would that be UC?

Okay, but there is still no way I see UC here.

CecilOne Fri Mar 17, 2006 01:43am

Why 2 bases? Isn't this a case of the ball getting away from a defense player, not a throw?

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 17, 2006 07:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Why 2 bases? Isn't this a case of the ball getting away from a defense player, not a throw?
Because a fair batted ball which enters dead ball territory or becomes blocked is a two-base award. Contact with a fielder is not relevant.

Of course, this does not apply to a fair batted ball which leaves the playing field, in flight, in fair terrority.

Skahtboi Fri Mar 17, 2006 09:42am

The player who was sitting at the edge of the dugout had her legs over/on the playing field. There was no defender around besides the one who deflected the ball when she booted the play.

The umpires at this game ruled interference, however, and called R1 out and placed B2 on 1B. I thought that this was an incorrect ruling at the time, as apparently most of you did as well. My thought, when questioned by one of the umpires working the game was the ball should have been dead immediately, with B2 placed at 1B and R1 at 2B.

Dakota Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
The umpires at this game ruled interference,
Some umpires should tattoo this to the inside of their eyelids...

"If there is no play, there is no interference."

Interference is always with a play, not with the ball, and not with a player (excepting, of course, silly rule interpretations on running lane violations).

mcrowder Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
The umpires at this game ruled interference,
Some umpires should tattoo this to the inside of their eyelids...

"If there is no play, there is no interference."

Interference is always with a play, not with the ball, and not with a player (excepting, of course, silly rule interpretations on running lane violations).

Right with you as usual, Dakota.

Right up until the last part... what did you mean by "(excepting, of course, silly rule interpretations on running lane violations)"? Interference on a RLV is still interference with a play. No play, no interference

Skahtboi Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:39am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

I think Scott is looking for an INT discussion here. :)
That's exactly what I was looking for.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

"If there is no play, there is no interference."
That was the point I made to the umpire who asked the question of me after the game.

Dakota Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
... what did you mean by "(excepting, of course, silly rule interpretations on running lane violations)"? Interference on a RLV is still interference with a play. No play, no interference
Oh, I'm just taking another opportunity to bash the NFHS - as WMB would accuse me of - but, not really BASH them, more like make fun of them. Besides, has this now been adopted by the ASA, too??? Seems like I remember some discussion about it late last year.

The "silly interpretation" is the NFHS (and maybe others') interpretation of the running lane violation to include when the batter-runner who is awarded a base on balls gets hit by a thrown ball when out of the lane, regardless of whether there is any real play possible at 1B.

mcrowder Fri Mar 17, 2006 01:57pm

Ah. Gotcha.

Tex Fri Mar 17, 2006 02:41pm

Same origional question but instead of offensive player, change to defensive player. “Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an DEFENSIVE player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?”

Skahtboi Fri Mar 17, 2006 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Tex
Same origional question but instead of offensive player, change to defensive player. “Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an DEFENSIVE player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?”
Dead ball. Runners awarded two bases from TOP.

mcrowder Fri Mar 17, 2006 03:22pm

Skaht - nice quote. Bringing out a little Steven Wright for all to enjoy. Nice.

One of my favorites: I used to work at a fire hydrant company, but I hated it because you couldn't park anywhere near the place.

That and his one long joke - the nympho joke.

Skahtboi Fri Mar 17, 2006 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Skaht - nice quote. Bringing out a little Steven Wright for all to enjoy. Nice.

Thanks. All of my quotes on here have been Steven Wright quotes. He is perhaps the funniest human in the stand-up biz...IMO.

mcrowder Fri Mar 17, 2006 03:53pm

I have a map of the world that is actual size.... a little square down in the ocean says one mile = one mile.

JFA67 Fri Mar 17, 2006 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Skahtboi
Quote:

Originally posted by Tex
Same origional question but instead of offensive player, change to defensive player. “Before the ball enters the dugout, the ball caroms off an DEFENSIVE player not in the game and who is sitting at the edge of the dugout, then into the dugout. What do you rule?”
Dead ball. Runners awarded two bases from TOP.

Scott -

Just wondering why the ruling isn't the same for both? Since the ball was inches from DBA.
Could you provide the NFHS rule you are basing your call on?

thanks

mcrowder Fri Mar 17, 2006 04:31pm

Why should the offense benefit from interfering with action? THEY prevented it from leaving the field of play. It didn't leave the field of play, even if you think/suspect/know it was going to.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 17, 2006 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
... what did you mean by "(excepting, of course, silly rule interpretations on running lane violations)"? Interference on a RLV is still interference with a play. No play, no interference
Oh, I'm just taking another opportunity to bash the NFHS - as WMB would accuse me of - but, not really BASH them, more like make fun of them. Besides, has this now been adopted by the ASA, too??? Seems like I remember some discussion about it late last year.

The "silly interpretation" is the NFHS (and maybe others') interpretation of the running lane violation to include when the batter-runner who is awarded a base on balls gets hit by a thrown ball when out of the lane, regardless of whether there is any real play possible at 1B.

Well, no, ASA did not change their interpretation of this play.

ASA simply removed the comment "without liability to be put out" when talking about a walk because in FP the BR could enter DBT, interfere with a play on another runner, etc. I just attended a clinic with the top two ASA guys and when this rule change was covered, they never mentioned a change in the existing interpretation.

JFA67 Fri Mar 17, 2006 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Why should the offense benefit from interfering with action? THEY prevented it from leaving the field of play. It didn't leave the field of play, even if you think/suspect/know it was going to.
That is what I was hoping Scott would say.
Keeping non participants off the field and totally in the dugout in the first place makes this problem go away.

Skahtboi Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by JFA67
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Why should the offense benefit from interfering with action? THEY prevented it from leaving the field of play. It didn't leave the field of play, even if you think/suspect/know it was going to.
That is what I was hoping Scott would say.
Keeping non participants off the field and totally in the dugout in the first place makes this problem go away.

Sorry. Just got back here after leaving my last post Friday. I don't ever read this board on the weekends.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1