The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Question #27 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25320-asa-question-27-a.html)

tcannizzo Fri Mar 03, 2006 05:30pm

Interesting that this has not been brought up yet:

27) Bottom of the 7th inning, on the first pitch, B1, an unreported substitute hits a homerun for the apparent winning run. Before the umpires leave live ball territory, the defense notifies the umpire about B1.

a. Homerun stands since the ball became dead on the homerun
Rule 4.6.C.3 - Effect - all runners will be returned to the bases occupied prior to the pitch, B1 is DQ'd and called out.

b. Game is over
There is only one out

c. B1 is an illegal substitute
B1 is an unreported substitute

d. Legal since a pitch was made
This is just wrong

My answer: None of the above...but that is not an option on the test.


David Emerling Fri Mar 03, 2006 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tcannizzo
Interesting that this has not been brought up yet:

27) Bottom of the 7th inning, on the first pitch, B1, an unreported substitute hits a homerun for the apparent winning run. Before the umpires leave live ball territory, the defense notifies the umpire about B1.

a. Homerun stands since the ball became dead on the homerun
Rule 4.6.C.3 - Effect - all runners will be returned to the bases occupied prior to the pitch, B1 is DQ'd and called out.

b. Game is over
There is only one out

c. B1 is an illegal substitute
B1 is an unreported substitute

d. Legal since a pitch was made
This is just wrong

My answer: None of the above...but that is not an option on the test.


An unreported substitute <i>is</i> an illegal substitute.

Read the EFFECT at the bottom of ASA Rule 4-7-G, "Any infraction of section G2-4 that occurs are governed by the Unreported Substitute rule, Rule 4 Section 6 A-C1-9."

They are treated the same.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN




AtlUmpSteve Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:54pm

Sorry, David; I don't buy that at all. An unreported sub is a defined term; an illegal sub is a different defined term. The definitions, penalties, and effects are not the same. It is possible that an illegal sub is also an unreported sub; it is equally possible that a legal sub is an unreported sub. There is nothing in this question, as I read it, that makes B1 an illegal sub.

debeau Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:06pm

The defense notifys the Umps so this is an appeal and the batter has now become an illegal sub .

tcannizzo Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by debeau
The defense notifys the Umps so this is an appeal and the batter has now become an illegal sub .
Please cite the ASA Rule that specifies this.

The closest the 2006 Rule Book comes is that they refer to the unreported sub as an illegal player, but not an illegal sub.

As Steve points out, an unreported sub can be a legal sub. An illegal sub is a player who is not eligble to be a sub. But a legal sub might enter the game and simply not report.

Question 27 is bogus.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:26am

Actually, there is no definition for an "illegal substitute". You either have an unreported substitute or an illegal player.

An US could be an IP. An IP cannot be an US, but in certain instances are treated in a similar fashon.

However, failure to report a substitute is a violation making the action illegal. Hence, the notation that B1 was an illegal substitute in common language, not softballese.

Besides, it was the closest thing to an intelligent option offered.

tcannizzo Sat Mar 04, 2006 11:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Actually, there is no definition for an "illegal substitute". You either have an unreported substitute or an illegal player.

An US could be an IP. An IP cannot be an US, but in certain instances are treated in a similar fashon.

However, failure to report a substitute is a violation making the action illegal. Hence, the notation that B1 was an illegal substitute in common language, not softballese.

Besides, it was the closest thing to an intelligent option offered.

How can an umpire refer to an "Illegal Substitute" if no such designation appears in the entire text of the Official Rule?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 04, 2006 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tcannizzo
Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Actually, there is no definition for an "illegal substitute". You either have an unreported substitute or an illegal player.

An US could be an IP. An IP cannot be an US, but in certain instances are treated in a similar fashon.

However, failure to report a substitute is a violation making the action illegal. Hence, the notation that B1 was an illegal substitute in common language, not softballese.

Besides, it was the closest thing to an intelligent option offered.

How can an umpire refer to an "Illegal Substitute" if no such designation appears in the entire text of the Official Rule?

Where does it state that an umpire (other than in this thread) referred to an Illegal Substitute?

The question already stated that B1 was an unreported substitute. You need to take the answer as the cause for the protest, not a definition. To enter an unreported substitute into the game is an "illegal" action.

tcannizzo Sun Mar 05, 2006 03:47pm

I'll keep it simple. . .Q27 is completely bogus.

mcrowder Mon Mar 06, 2006 09:26am

I disagree. It's not like they capitalized Illegal Substitute, as if to intimate that that phrase had a specific meaning in the definition section. The answer (C) could have been clearer, specifying the penalty to be enforced, but it's not inaccurate or wrong. C is the only answer that is not wrong ... making it the right answer.

The batter, an unreported substitute, was not a legal substitute - what does "illegal" mean other than "not legal"?

I see nothing wrong with this question.

greymule Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:33am

To expect test-takers to distinguish between an official (capitalized) term and a generic (lower-cased) term is going a little far.

mcrowder Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:46am

You don't have to make any distinction at all. The only reason I mentioned that is that some here seem to be trying to associate some sort of "Official Meaning" to the phrase "illegal substitute", when there is none. The words are there, in regular type, without any super-secret meaning.

Are you guys trying to say that "B1 is an illegal substitute" is not true? If so, why? It IS true, which makes C the right answer.

If it had said "B1 is an Illegal Substitute", I could see the confusion - you might think that "Illegal Substitute" has some sort of different status from an "unreported substitute". It would still not be incorrect, but I could see the reason some would wonder about it.

Without the caps, C is just saying that the substitute is not legal ... which is correct, and the ONLY correct answer in our choices. Don't read more into is than is given, and it makes plenty of sense.

tcannizzo Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:58am

B1 would be an illegal substitute if:
a.) a starter who is re-entering a 2nd time
b.) a player not on the team roster
c.) a sub who is re-entering for a 2nd time
d.) a player who was previously disqualified

Many unreported substitutes are legal substitutes, but were simply sent into the game by the coach who has forgotten to inform the PU of the change.


mcrowder Mon Mar 06, 2006 01:40pm

I don't see your point at all.

Yeah, there are several cases where an unreported substitute is illegal. There are cases where the unreported substitute becomes legal or legitimized, and there are cases where even appealing an unreported substitute has no detrimental effect to the team that forgot to report the substitute... How does that have any effect on this question?

The unannounced substitute mentioned in the question is not legal (and there is a penalty attached). So the answer is C. Very simple, really.

Unless someone can tell us why (C) is not true, the complaint about this question is kind of pointless.

Dakota Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:14pm

This question is very poorly constructed.

While c) is the only feasibly correct answer, you get there by process of elimination - a, b, and d are obviously wrong, leaving us with the vaguely worded c. It is not proper wording of the answer, IMO, since there is no such entity as an "illegal substitute", leaving you with the generic meaning of "the substitution was not legal."

One would expect, from the scenario offered, that the answer would have something to do with the proper ruling; instead to have the correct answer be, simply, that an unreported substitute is illegal is both confusing and overly generic.

David Emerling Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
This question is very poorly constructed.

While c) is the only feasibly correct answer, you get there by process of elimination - a, b, and d are obviously wrong, leaving us with the vaguely worded c. It is not proper wording of the answer, IMO, since there is no such entity as an "illegal substitute", leaving you with the generic meaning of "the substitution was not legal."

One would expect, from the scenario offered, that the answer would have something to do with the proper ruling; instead to have the correct answer be, simply, that an unreported substitute is illegal is both confusing and overly generic.

I agree with your analysis. However, I think we should all <i>also</i> agree that this is still a poor question.

tcannizzo clearly has the necessary understanding to properly rule on this play, yet, his confusion resides on a semantic technicality.

What's the POINT of this question? What are the test administrators trying to reveal about the umpire's knowledge, or lack thereof?

Wouldn't it be simpler if choice (C) simply read, "B1 is liable as an unreported substitute"?

A good question should minimize the extent that the test-taker has to interpret the nuances of the question - especially if those nuances are largely semantic in nature - like <i>this</i> question.

The POINT this question is testing is excellent. The WAY in which it is being tested is poor.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

[Edited by David Emerling on Mar 6th, 2006 at 02:29 PM]

tcannizzo Mon Mar 06, 2006 03:34pm

If your official ruling on the field was "illegal substitute", you would be laughed off the field. Just like if you referred to a "foul tip" that went to the backstop. lol

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 06, 2006 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tcannizzo
If your official ruling on the field was "illegal substitute", you would be laughed off the field.
Why? The book refers to a legal substitute, so why can there not be a reference to an illegal substitute?

Furthermore, there is nothing wrong with the question. The scenario presented the fact that B1 was an unreported substitute. This isn't "English 101 for football recruits".

Is an unreported sub in the game legally? Obviously, not or that player wouldn't be in jeopardy of disqualification if caught by the offended team prior to being reported.


mcrowder Mon Mar 06, 2006 05:00pm

But Tom, the question specifically says the defense brought the sub to the attention of the umpire... making her illegal.

I agree that a more specific answer in C would have been better - perhaps something indicating the penalty. But that omission does not invalidate the question. Once the umpire was notified, the unreported sub becomes illegal - and penalties now apply.

bkbjones Mon Mar 06, 2006 06:38pm

I'm looking at this from a different angle, one brought on by oxycodone and other pain killers after getting my left knee done the other day (damn slow pitch!!!!).

I'm sorry, but I just don't see what the big deal is. She is now illegal because she was ratted out as an unreported sub. She's as out as she can be, let's get another ball back to the pitcher, we have one out, batter up, play ball.

We need the dead horse animated gif. Rules tests have never been written to appeal to a grammarian. As has been alluded to previously in this thread, it does have the feel of ballpark vernacular, especially this question. So what? It's NOT a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

booker227 Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:56pm

A trick question. My answer is C, since the others are dead wrong, and the player is an unreported substitute and not an illegal one. This "game-winnning" hit becomes the last play of the game, and if an unreported substitute is discovered and an appeal is made before the umpires have left the field, that player is disqualified and declared an out, while the other players are returned to the bases occupied prior.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 09, 2006 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by booker227
A trick question. My answer is C, since the others are dead wrong, and the player is an unreported substitute and not an illegal one.
What is so hard to understand here? There is no such defined animal as an "illegal substitute". We know the player is an unreported sub because it states so in the text of the question. Of course, the use of an unreported substitute is an illegal action. You cannot tell me that the player is not an illegal substitute as you have no definition.

The only reason this could be considered a "trick question" is by people reading more into the question and answer than is on the paper in front of them.




mcrowder Thu Mar 09, 2006 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by booker227
A trick question. My answer is C, since the others are dead wrong, and the player is an unreported substitute and not an illegal one. This "game-winnning" hit becomes the last play of the game, and if an unreported substitute is discovered and an appeal is made before the umpires have left the field, that player is disqualified and declared an out, while the other players are returned to the bases occupied prior.
Really? So... you're applying a penalty for something that is not illegal? Odd, that.

booker227 Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:18am

I believe that this is a sly question, used to test the knowledge of definitions and the applications of the rules.
I'm basing this on the ASA book and my experience and what do about an unreported substitute who is playing when the game ends, and when the protest is made. The home run ends the game. The umpires have not left the field, and the protest is made before they have left the field. The unreported substitute is disqualified with an out, and all other runners, if any, are returned to the base occupied prior to the at bat by the unreported substitute.
There is a difference between an illegal substitute and an unreported substitute.
That's all
have a great season

David Emerling Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by booker227
I believe that this is a sly question, used to test the knowledge of definitions and the applications of the rules.
I'm basing this on the ASA book and my experience and what do about an unreported substitute who is playing when the game ends, and when the protest is made. The home run ends the game. The umpires have not left the field, and the protest is made before they have left the field. The unreported substitute is disqualified with an out, and all other runners, if any, are returned to the base occupied prior to the at bat by the unreported substitute.
There is a difference between an illegal substitute and an unreported substitute.
That's all
have a great season

Situation #1: Team A's coach reports a substitution to the PU. #23 is subbing for #3. The umpire notes the change on his lineup card and reports the change to Team B. #23 walks. Before the next pitch Team B says, "Wait just a minute! #23 was the courtesy runner earlier in this inning. She cannot enter the game on offense in the same half inning. She's an illegal substitute!"

Ruling?

Situation #2: Team A sends #18 to bat for #3. #18 has not yet made an appearance in the game. The substitution is *not* reported to the umpire. #18 walks. Before the next pitch Team B says, "Wait just a minute! Who's that on 1st? Was she reported as a substitute?"

Ruling?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN

[Edited by David Emerling on Mar 10th, 2006 at 11:13 AM]

Dakota Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by David Emerling
Situation #1: Team A's coach reports a substitution to the PU. #23 is subbing for #3. The umpire notes the change on his lineup card and reports the change to Team B. #23 walks. Before the next pitch Team B says, "Wait just a minute! #23 was the courtesy runner earlier in this inning. She cannot enter the game on offense in the same half inning. She's an illegal substitute!"

Ruling?

Illegal player. DQed and declared out. ASA 8-10-D, G, and ASA 4-6-E-EFFECT-b. And the PU should be ashamed of himself.

Quote:

Originally posted by David Emerling
Situation #2: Team A sends #18 to bat for #3. #18 has not yet made an appearance in the game. The substitution is *not* reported to the umpire. #18 walks. Before the next pitch Team B says, "Wait just a minute! Who's that on 1st? Was she reported as a substitute?"

Ruling?

Same, except it is an unreported subsituted, and no need for the PU being ashamed. ASA 4-6-B-EXCEPTION-1.

booker227 Fri Mar 10, 2006 02:34pm

I believe that in the first situation you have an illegal player, who, since she was a courtesy runner in the same inning, doesn't have a legal right to that position. If discovered and protessted after one pitch or one play, the penalty is disqualification of the offending player and she is replaced by a substitute player or the starter.
The second situation is an unreported substitute who is disqualified, all outs stand, and all players are returned to their original bases.
As you can see, the penalty inforcement is different.
Now that's what I believe, but I can be wrong.


Dakota Fri Mar 10, 2006 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by booker227
I believe that in the first situation you have an illegal player, who, since she was a courtesy runner in the same inning, doesn't have a legal right to that position. If discovered and protessted after one pitch or one play, the penalty is disqualification of the offending player and she is replaced by a substitute player or the starter.
The second situation is an unreported substitute who is disqualified, all outs stand, and all players are returned to their original bases.
As you can see, the penalty inforcement is different.
Now that's what I believe, but I can be wrong.


Make sure you are looking at the rule covering an offensive player who has completed her turn at bat, reached base safely and the protest is made before the next pitch. (The US / IP is declared out in that situation.)

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 10, 2006 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by booker227

There is a difference between an illegal substitute and an unreported substitute.

Really?? How would you know if there is no definition of "illegal substitute" in the book? :O


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1