The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Question #39 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/25152-asa-question-39-a.html)

IRISHMAFIA Tue Feb 28, 2006 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
I guess I'm having problems with this assumption that a caught ball is not foul. Why not. It doesn't say that in the rules. A caught ball can be caught fair, or caught foul. Why is there an assumption here by you two that once it's caught it's no longer foul? It IS foul... it's just not dead.
ASA
Rule 1 Foul Ball A
Rule 7.4.E/F
EFFECT: Section 4E-K The ball is dead and each runner must return to their base without liability to be put out.

By rule, it isn't possible to have a "live" foul ball.

mcrowder Tue Feb 28, 2006 02:32pm

Shall I emulate 2 posters on the baseball board and insist I'm right in the face of evidence to the contrary? Or shall I fall on my sword.

I stand (well... sit) corrected.

Dakota Tue Feb 28, 2006 02:56pm

As an absolute contrarian by nature, even when I am taking a position contrary to myself...

Recall all my confident postings that none of the what ifs in this thread, no matter how constructed, but they had to fit within the original test question's wording, would result in a different ruling?

Well, what do we do with ASA 1-FOUL BALL-D???

http://www.clicksmilies.com/s0105/te...smiley-009.gif

BretMan Tue Feb 28, 2006 04:01pm

I already thought about that.

Definition "D" refers to "a runner".

The player from the test question is a "batter-runner".

But, yeah, at first glance that one does muddy the waters a bit!





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1