The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   LBR/OBS Interpretation (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/24837-lbr-obs-interpretation.html)

mcrowder Thu Feb 09, 2006 08:53am

I'm in agreement with Steve. By the book, and by interpretations of the exceptions I've been given in clinics, LBR would trump OBS. I also agree, however, that you have to use the God Rule to keep the defense from benefitting from their transgression here.

But in a more liberal sense - if the LBR was not CAUSED BY the OBS, as it is in the OP, then you would have to rule an out (for instance, round 1st, stop, continue, get OBS'd, continue, and then stop again - there the LBR is not caused by the OBS - it's a further transgression by the runner not allowed by rules).

An internal email (not sure why they didn't just post this, since it's interesting, but I'll leave their anonymity in tact...) switched the situation just a tad - and leaves us in a conundrum (well, it would leave Steve and I... I think Andy would simply have OBS and put the runner at 2nd).

Sitch 3, we'll call it:

BR rounds first, comes to a full stop, decides to proceed to 2nd. F1 oblivious or motionless, with ball in circle. BR crashes into F4, stopping, and RETURNS TO FIRST.

LBR? OBS? Was the LBR transgression, in this case, CAUSED BY the OBS, or was it a separate illegal act by the runner? I admit, this one has me wondering what I'd do if faced with it on the field.

Also - 1 question for Andy. Seems you'd rule that the OBS trumps the LBR. What base are you giving her? Would it matter if the collision got the pitcher's attention, and she fired to 2nd? If the contact happened, say, only 1/3 of the way to 2nd, do you award 2nd, or just back to 1st?

CecilOne Thu Feb 09, 2006 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by AtlUmpSteve
... snip ...

CecilOne: "Minor obstruction", so far as I know, is not of softball significance. I know it has a place in baseball lore and interpretation, but not here, Either a runner is obstructed, or not; the amount of obstruction only relates to the amount of anticipated award or protection, it has no significance to the ruling

... snip ...

WHO ?

Andy Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder

Sitch 3, we'll call it:

BR rounds first, comes to a full stop, decides to proceed to 2nd. F1 oblivious or motionless, with ball in circle. BR crashes into F4, stopping, and RETURNS TO FIRST.

LBR? OBS? Was the LBR transgression, in this case, CAUSED BY the OBS, or was it a separate illegal act by the runner? I admit, this one has me wondering what I'd do if faced with it on the field.

I would handle this the same as Sitch #2. BR crashes into F4, I have OBS and the left arm goes out. After the OBS, BR stops, at this point we have a violation of the LBR and the BR would be out. However, she cannot be put out between first and second because she was obstructed between first and second. I kill the play and award BR the appropriate (more on this below) base. I stand by my interpretation that LBR is not an exception to the OBS rule.

Quote:

Also - 1 question for Andy. Seems you'd rule that the OBS trumps the LBR. What base are you giving her? Would it matter if the collision got the pitcher's attention, and she fired to 2nd? If the contact happened, say, only 1/3 of the way to 2nd, do you award 2nd, or just back to 1st?
As you stated, the award is a HTBT situation. It would depend on the location of the OBS, what the pitcher was doing or not doing, etc. You notice that I did not commit to a specific base in any of my earlier responses. So, to answer your question, I would assess the situation and award.......the appropriate base. :D

Side note: Even though I appear to be the minority opinion here, I am enjoying the discussion. Thanks to all for keeping this a civil thread.

I'm also going to run this by Emily and see what her take on this play is. I'll let you all know what I find out.


mcrowder Mon Feb 13, 2006 01:58pm

I'm still looking forward to a response from someone with a little authority (like Mike R), as I admit that by the LETTER of the law LBR is not listed as an exception and by the INTERP of the law (every clinic I've ever attended that addressed this) it's usually stated that the baserunner must still run bases legally after an OBS - which would imply that LBR IS an exception.

CecilOne Mon Feb 13, 2006 03:18pm

I'll have to read this topic again, but for now I'll stay with my original opinion and I have as little authority as anyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1