The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/24627-interference.html)

tzme415 Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:58pm

Situations for Men's ASA SP Class C -

A) R1 on 2B, F10 playing on infield behind 2B, Batter hits ball up the middle, batted ball hits R1 while standing on base. What is the call?

B) Same as A except insert F6 playing up the middle for a left-handed pull hitter for F10.

C) Same as A except R1 is off the base when hit.

D) Same as B except R1 is off the base when hit.


whiskers_ump Mon Jan 30, 2006 03:11pm

A. No problem, Don't intend .

B. Don't really care where she positions herself, runner should be
on base and not intentionally interfer.

C and D, interference.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jan 30, 2006 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tzme415
Situations for Men's ASA SP Class C -

A) R1 on 2B, F10 playing on infield behind 2B, Batter hits ball up the middle, batted ball hits R1 while standing on base. What is the call?

If F6 or F4 weren't playing up closer to 2B, it's a dead ball, BR awarded 1B, all other runners advance, if forced.

If for some very odd reason one of those two players were up close and the ball passed the defender closest to 2B, the ball is live.

In both cases, if the contact is intentional, the ball is dead, runner is out, all runners returned to their base at the time of the INT and BR awarded 1B.
Quote:


B) Same as A except insert F6 playing up the middle for a left-handed pull hitter for F10.
Same as above.
Quote:


C) Same as A except R1 is off the base when hit.

The runner will be out as long as any player, in the judgment of the umpire, had an chance to get an out.

If, in the judgment of the umpire, it passed a fielder prior to hitting R1 and no player could have executed an out, the ball is live.

Quote:


D) Same as B except R1 is off the base when hit.

Same as C.

Assigned defensive positions are irrelevent to any of these plays.

tzme415 Mon Jan 30, 2006 04:49pm

Thanks, I wasn't sure if the fact that F10 is normally an outfielder made a difference. I actually had A happen in a game, called it a dead ball and awarded BR 1B. Had the biggest argument from the defense that R1 was out since he prevented F10 from making a play. There is no way this was intentional. Would the calls on any of these change if the ball would have nicked the pitchers glove on the way toward 2B?

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:33pm

Heck, yeah, it makes a difference. If F1 touched the ball, it is a live ball without interference in A, B, C, & D, unless the contact with runner is judged intentional.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1