![]() |
LH batter runs up in the box to slap the ball toward 3B. As the batter begins to step into the ball, decides not to hit the ball and steps in front of the plate to let the ball pass, but it catches her on the thigh.
Offense want the batter awarded 1B on a HBP. Catcher tells her coach it would have been a strike. The batter is on the ground crying. The umpire should rule: 1. Ball 2. HBP 3. Strike 4. No pitch 5. Allow a courtesy runner [Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Jan 30th, 2006 at 07:43 AM] |
3.Strike, if the catcher is accurate and you would have called a strike if it hadn't hit the batter. HBP cannot be in the strike zone.
Morning Mike. Of course it's 3PM here. |
This is always a fun one... The rulebook doesn't say what you think it should say in this particular case, when you get down to brass tacks. If there's a "new" ASA interp, I'd love to hear it.
Re-read the definition of STRIKE. Does it say anything about this particular pitch? |
It does now!! 2006 rule change, 7-4.L, "A strike is called by the umpire when: A pitched ball, IN THE UMPIRE'S JUDGMENT is prevented from entering the strike zone by any actions of the batter other than hitting the ball.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and a strike is called. So, Mike, in your play, we first have a dead ball call. It is a HBP, but not necessarily an awarded base. If the umpire agrees with the catcher, we have a strike. If the umpire thinks it wasn't a strike, he may judge that the batter made no effort to avoid being hit by the pitch, and may call it a ball. If he feels it wasn't a strike, and that the batter did make sufficient attempt, or was unable to make more attempt by the nature of the pitch, he may award her first base. And, if it is the pitcher or catcher batting (in JO or senior), there can be a legal courtesy runner. I like this rule; too bad NCAA has it all wrong, and calls this a "no pitch". Their rules committee doesn't think umpires can judge that it might have crossed the plate, since it was stopped prior to that point. [Edited by AtlUmpSteve on Jan 30th, 2006 at 10:55 AM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Here is where I don't care for some umpire's "judgment". Too many people want to argue that stepping into the pitch is a natural movement for a slap hitter and s/he cannot possibly react in time to avoid a pitch, thus always being awarded the base. Remember, there is no penalty for hitting the ball with a foot out of the BB as long as it isn't on the ground at the time of contact. My opinion is that if a batter steps into a pitch outside of the vertical confines of the BB, the batter knowingly placed themselves in jeopardy of being hit and should not be awarded the base. Quote:
|
Amen!
I have not gotten my copy of the 2006 book yet. But this, finally, solves the problem of this play from the 2005 book. It was not a strike in 2005, as it never actually entered the strike zone. Hallelujah. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am. |