The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Clarification Needed..... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/2437-clarification-needed.html)

whiskers_ump Sun Jun 03, 2001 09:32pm

:confused:....Maybe

Courtesy runner. Player used in say bottom of
sixth - can she go in as legal substitute in top
of seventh?

I said yes, opposing coach and partner, both said
she could not. I allowed the substitution and
game played under protest, however, protesting
team won the game. Rule 8 Section 11D???

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 03, 2001 10:12pm

Speaking ASA.

As long as the coach waited until the six inning was complete, he can make the change.


SamNVa Mon Jun 04, 2001 10:40am

FED Rules (8-5-1) A player who has been used as a courtesy runner may not be substituted for another player <b>in the same half inning</b> Exception: If an injury occurs and no other substitutes are available, the courtesy runner may substitute for the injured player.

So even if a player courtesy runs in the top half of an inning, they can enter on defense in the bottom half.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1