The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2001, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 44
Federation Rules...Bunting...Situation.
The batter-runner places a bunt in front of home base.Then appears to be carefully throwing bat in front of home base. I think in an effort to position the bat to block the ball from spinning back in foul territory.
Bat and ball make contact a second time in corner of batters box in fair territory.I called dead ball/foul ball because of second contact. I didn't get a argument over the call but the play had me thinking the situation over all night. I went home and tried to confirm ruleing with rule book. I think I could have call interference on batter for deliberately throwing bat out in front to block the ball from spinning back into foul territory. And I don't think I should of call dead ball/foul ball because of second contact if the bat was not still in her hands when second contact occured. Does it matter that this happend within the batters box and fair? I know it would be foul ball if the second contact was in foul territory.
This is a play I have never seen before and one I want to be sure of, with all the varitions next time.
__________________
Collin B
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1